Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Canadian diplomats still denied access to Tibet despite requests – Minister Freeland

September 24, 2018

Ottawa, September 24, 2018 – China continues to deny access to Canadian diplomats requesting permission to visit Tibet, said Minister of Foreign Affairs Chrystia Freeland in a written statement made on September 17, 2018. [1]

According to Minister Freeland, since 2016 both Canadian diplomatic personnel and Ambassador John McCallum have made multiple requests for the various permits required for anyone wishing to visit Tibet. [2] None were approved.

In the same period of time, Canada has welcomed at least three official delegations from the Tibet Autonomous Region, including an unprecedented invitation to testify before Parliament’s Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development (SCFAID) on May 8, 2018.   

“Reciprocity is a fundamental principal of diplomatic practice” said Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. “Continued denial of reciprocal access to Tibet begs the question - what is China hiding?”  

Responding to a related question from NDP Foreign Affairs critic Hélène Laverdière during the SCFAID hearing, Tibet delegation spokesperson Mr. Baima Wangdui appeared unaware of his own government’s policy.  He replied, “If you conform to the laws and regulations related to regional ethnic autonomy... I do believe that you would have a good chance of going to Tibet to have a look at it.” [3]

2018 has been designated the Canada-China Year of Tourism and is described on the government of Canada website as an opportunity to further “people-to-people exchange and bilateral cooperation”. [4]

# # #

[1] The Minister’s statement came in response to an order paper question submitted in June by Member of Parliament Randall Garrison (Vice Chair of the Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet).  The order paper question #1858 can be accessed at https://www.ourcommons.ca/DocumentViewer/en/42-1/house/sitting-319/order-notice/page-9 .  Minister Freeland’s response is found at https://www.ourcommons.ca/DocumentViewer/en/42-1/house/sitting-319/hansard 

[2] Any foreigner visiting Tibet is required to have up to 3 special permits plus a regular Chinese visa. The permits are for entry, for travel outside of Lhasa, and for travel to “military sensitive” areas, according to www.tibettravel.org

[3] SCFAID evidence transcript, May 8, 2018 at (1625) http://www.ourcommons.ca/DocumentViewer/en/42-1/FAAE/meeting-96/evidence 

[4] http://tourismchina-ca.com/canadian-p-m-and-li-jinzao-co-unveil-the-2018-china-canada-tourism-year/ 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« La paix ne peut prendre racine tant que les droits de la personne sont bafoués. Comment la paix peut-elle régner alors que le simple fait de dire la vérité constitue un crime? »

Les diplomates canadiens toujours sans accès au Tibet, malgré les requêtes – Ministre Freeland

September 24, 2018

Ottawa, le 24 septembre 2018 - La Chine continue de refuser l’accès aux diplomates canadiens qui ont demandé la permission de visiter le Tibet, affirme la ministre des affaires étrangères Chrystia Freeland dans une déclaration écrite datée le 17 septembre 2018. [1]

Selon la ministre Freeland, depuis 2016, le personnel diplomatique et l’ambassadeur John McCallum ont fait de multiples requêtes pour des permis divers pour visiter le Tibet. [2] Aucune demande n’a été acceptée.

Pendant la même période, le Canada a accueilli au moins trois délégations officielles de la Région autonome du Tibet, incluant une invitation sans précédent à témoigner devant le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international (CPAEDI), le 8 mai 2018.

“La réciprocité est le principe fondamental de la pratique diplomatique”, affirme Sherap Therchin, Directeur général du Comité Canada Tibet. “Le fait que l’accès réciproque au Tibet est refusé à répétition nous mène à nous poser la question: Qu’est-ce que la Chine veut cacher?”  

En réponse à une question reliée à ce sujet, posée par le critique des affaires étrangères du NPD, Hélène Laverdière, pendant l’audience du CPAEDI, le porte-parole de la délégation tibétaine, M. Baima Wangdui a semblé ne pas être au courant des politiques de son propre gouvernement. Il a répondu : “Si vous vous conformez aux lois et aux règlements qui régissent l’autonomie ethnique… je crois que vous avez une bonne chance d’aller au Tibet pour l’observer.” [3]

L’année 2018 a été désignée Année du tourisme Canada-Chine, décrite sur le site du gouvernement du Canada comme une occasion d’approfondir “l’échange entre les peuples et la coopération bilatérale”. [4]

# # #

[1] La déclaration de la ministre est une réponse à la question inscrite en juin par le MP Randall Garrison, (Vice-président du groupe des Amis du Tibet du Parlement canadien). La question inscrite #1858 peut être lue à l’adresse https://www.noscommunes.ca/DocumentViewer/fr/42-1/chambre/seance-319/feuilleton-avis/page-9.  La réponse de la ministre Freeland peut être lue à l’adresse https://www.noscommunes.ca/DocumentViewer/fr/42-1/chambre/seance-319/debats 

[2] Tout étranger qui visite le Tibet doit avoir jusqu’à 3 permis spéciaux, en plus du visa chinois régulier. Les permis sont des permis d’entrée, des permis de voyage à l’extérieur de Lhassa et des permis pour voyage dans des zones ‘militaires sensibles’, selon le site www.tibettravel.org

[3] Compte-rendu du témoignage du CPAEDI, le 8 mai 2018 (1625) http://www.noscommunes.ca/DocumentViewer/fr/42-1/FAAE/reunion-96/temoignages

[4] http://tourismchina-ca.com/canadian-p-m-and-li-jinzao-co-unveil-the-2018-china-canada-tourism-year/ 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank