Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

Canada Tibet Committee in 2018 and donation appeal for 2019

December 21, 2018

Two days before the world celebrated International Huma Rights Day, a Tibetan youth named Drukkho has set himself on fire in Ngaba, Amdo on December 8, 2018. Drukkho’s death is the 155th self-immolation by a Tibetan in Tibet and China since 2009, in protest against the constant Chinese persecution and human rights violations.

Earlier this year, in May, Tibetan language activist Tashi Wangchuk was sentenced to five years in prison, for having campaigned to save his language from the encroaching dominance of Chinese. He was charged with “inciting separatism”;the request by Canada’s Embassy in Beijing to attend his trial was denied. 

But there is also good news: Together we can bring Tibet’s story to Ottawa!

The Canada Tibet Committee staff and volunteers work every day to keep Tibet front and center on the Government of Canada’s agenda. Here are a few of our activities and lobbying accomplishments during this year:

  • March 2018: the CTC made a written submission to the UN for China’s third Universal Periodic Review, followed by a request to the Canadian government to raise the Tibet issue during China’s UPR in Geneva.
  • On May 23, 2018, a day after Tashi Wangchuk’s sentencing, the Canadian government called on China to release him immediately and unconditionally. 
  • June 2018: the CTC organized a visit to Ottawa by Tibet’s political leader, Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay. He spoke before the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development, and also addressed the Senate’s Special Standing Committees on Human Rights and Foreign Affairs.
  • June 2018: the CTC and the Parliamentary Friends of Tibetorganized the annual “Canada Tibet Lobby Days” and a “Thank You Canada”event, on Parliament Hill, with Canada’s Minister of Heritage, Ms. Mélanie Joly,as the chief guest.
  • September 2018: Canadian Foreign Minister Chrystia Freeland reiterated Canada’s support for human rights in Tibet and dialogue between the Government of China and H.H. the Dalai Lama’s envoys. 
  • November 2018: at China’s third UN Universal Periodic Review, Canada recommended that China end the religious persecution of Tibetan Buddhists.
  • Throughout the year, the CTC organized a series of workshops on the potential Canada-China Free Trade Agreement and its impact on human rights in Tibet.

DONATE TODAY AND SUPPORT TIBET!

The CTC is funded entirely by private donations and special events - it does not accept any government funding for its operations. When you make a generous donation to the Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) you ensure that we will continue to defend and promote human rights for the Tibetan people.  The CTC publishes its annual financial reports on our website at www.tibet.ca .

1.      Send a cheque or money order by mail. Be sure to include your name and address so that we can thank you. Mail your cheque to the Canada Tibet Committee, 1425 Rene Levesque Blvd. West, 3rd floor, Montreal, Quebec, H3G 1T7.

2.      Donate online by visiting our website at http://www.tibet.ca/en/join_donate/

Thank you – we appreciate your support.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Comité Canada Tibet en 2018 et appel à dons pour 2019

December 21, 2018

Le 4 novembre, un jeune tibétain de 23 ans, Dorbe, s’est auto-immolé à Ngaba, dans la province d’Amdo. Il est le 154ème tibétain à s’auto-immoler au Tibet ou en Chine, en signe de protestation contre la persécution et les violations des droits humains de la Chine. 

Plus tôt cette année, en mai, l’activiste Tashi Wangchuk a été condamné à 5 ans de prison pour avoir mené une campagne de sauvegarde de la langue tibétaine. Il a été accusé d’avoir ‘incité le séparatisme’; l’Ambassade canadienne à Beijing a demandé d’assister à son procès mais la demande a été refusée. 

Ensemble, nous pouvons amener la question du Tibet à Ottawa!

Les employés et bénévoles du Comité Canada Tibet travaillent fort pour garder le Tibet sur l’agenda principal du gouvernement canadien. Voici quelques-uns de nos accomplissements et activités de cette année :

  • Mars 2018: le CCT a fait une soumission aux Nations Unies pour le 3èmeexamen périodique de la Chine, suivie par une requête au gouvernement canadien de soulever la question du Tibet lors de l’examen de la Chine.
  • Le 23 mai, un jour après la condamnation de Tashi Wangchuk, le gouvernement canadien a demandé à la Chine sa libération immédiate et inconditionnelle.
  • Juin 2018: le CCT a organisé la visite à Ottawa du chef politique tibétain, Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay. Il s’est adressé au Comité parlementaire sur les affaires étrangères et le développement international, ainsi qu’au Comité spécial sur les droits humains et les affaires étrangères du Sénat canadien.
  • Juin 2018: le CCT et le groupe des Amis du Tibet du Parlement canadienont organisé les ‘Journées du lobby Canada –Tibet’ annuelles, ainsi qu’un évènement ‘Merci Canada’, sur la Colline parlementaire, avec la Ministre du patrimoine Mme Mélanie Joly,comme invitée d’honneur.
  • Septembre 2018: La Ministre des affaires étrangères Chrystia Freeland a réitéré le soutien du Canada pour les droits humains au Tibet et pour le dialogue entre le gouvernement chinois et les envoyés de S.S. le Dalai Lama. 
  • Novembre 2018: Lors de l’examen périodique de la Chine aux Nations Unies, le Canada a recommandé que la Chine cesse la persécution religieuse des bouddhistes tibétains.
  • Pendant l’année, le CCT a organisé une série d’ateliers sur le potentiel accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Chine et son impact sur les droits humains au Tibet. 

FAITES UN DON AUJOURD’HUI ET SOUTENEZ LE TIBET!

Le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) est finance entièrement par des dons privés et des évènements spéciaux. Le CCT n’accepte pas de financement gouvernemental pour ses opérations. En faisant un don au CCT, vous nous permettez de continuer à défendre et promouvoir les droits humains du peuple tibétain. Le CCT publie ses rapports financiers annuels sur son site web www.tibet.ca

1.      Envoyez un chèque ou mandat postal par la poste. Assurez-vous d’inclure votre nom et votre adresse, pour que nous puissions vous en remercier.  Envoyez votre chèque au Comité Canada Tibet, 1425 Boul. René Levesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal, Québec, H3G 1T7.

2.      Faites un don en ligne en visitant notre site web http://www.tibet.ca/fr/join_donate/ 

Merci ! Votre soutien est très apprécié.

 

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank