Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

Canadian Foreign Minister reiterates support for human rights in Tibet

January 28, 2019

Ottawa, January 28, 2019 - Foreign Affairs Minister Chrystia Freeland said in a written statement issued Monday that Canada remains deeply concerned about the human rights situation affecting Tibetans, including restrictions on freedom of expression and freedom of religion or belief, as well as the protection of linguistic and cultural rights. Freeland's statement came in response to a petition submitted to the House of Commons by MP Randall Garrison and his intern Ms. Khando Langri. [1]

The statement also mentions that Canada has raised concerns regarding human rights practices directly with Chinese authorities on numerous occasions. According to the statement, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Chinese Premier Li Keqiang had a frank and open discussion on human rights, freedom of expression, and freedom of religion as part of the third Canada-China Annual Leaders’ Dialogue on November 14, 2018. In the same year, Canada raised concerns about Tibet issues at a Ministerial Meeting to Advance Religious Freedom in Washington, and at the 3rd Universal Periodic Review of China in Geneva.

“We are grateful to the Government of Canada for continuing to raise concerns about human rights violations in Tibet,” said Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of Canada Tibet Committee. “We call upon the Government of China to respect the cultural, linguistic, religious and economic rights of Tibetans.”


In her statement, Minister Freeland also said that “Canada will continue to raise its concerns about the human rights situation in China and Tibet, and we will continue to call on China to live up to its international obligations.”


In November 2018, the Government of Canada announced $5.4 million funding to promote the preservation of Tibetan language and culture through gender-responsive teaching practices in Tibetan schools in India and Nepal. [2]


# # #

[1] Minister Freeland's statement is found here: http://www.ourcommons.ca/Content/ePetitions/Responses/421/e-1743/421-03025_GAC_E.pdf

[2] Canadian funding for Tibet education: https://tibet.net/2018/11/canadian-government-announces-5-4-million-in-funding-for-tibetan-education/

 

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

La ministre canadienne des affaires étrangères réitère son soutien aux droits de l’homme au Tibet.

January 28, 2019

Ottawa, 28 janvier 2019 - La ministre canadienne des affaires étrangères, Chrystia Freeland, a dit dans une déclaration écrite publiée lundi, que le Canada reste vivement préoccupé concernant la situation des droits de l’homme vécue par les Tibétains, incluant des restrictions de liberté d’expression et de liberté de religion, ou de croyances, en plus de la protection des droits linguistiques et culturels. La déclaration de Freeland fut donnée en réponse à une pétition soumise à la Chambre des communes par le député Randall Garrison et Mme. Khando Langri, alors sa stagiaire.  [1]

La déclaration mentionne aussi que le Canada, à de nombreuses occasions, a soulevé ses inquiétudes directement avec les autorités chinoises, concernant leurs pratiques en matière des droits de la personne. Selon la communication, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau et le premier ministre du Conseil des affaires d’État de la République populaire de Chine, Li Keqiang, ont eu une discussion franche et ouverte sur les droits de la personne, ainsi que sur les libertés d’expression et de religion, dans le cadre du troisième dialogue annuel des dirigeants Canada-Chine le 14 novembre 2018. La même année, le Canada a exprimé sa préoccupation sur la question tibétaine à une réunion ministérielle pour l’avancement de la liberté de religion organisée à Washington, ainsi qu’à un troisième examen périodique universel sur la Chine à Genève.

“Nous sommes reconnaissants envers le gouvernement du Canada pour continuer à soulever l’inquiétude sur les violations des droits de l’homme au Tibet,” a déclaré Sherap Therchin, directeur exécutif du Comité Canada Tibet. “Nous invitons le gouvernement de la Chine à respecter les droits culturels, linguistiques, religieux et économiques des Tibétains.”

Dans sa déclaration, la ministre Freeland a aussi dit que “le Canada va continuer à soulever ses inquiétudes au sujet des droits de la personne en Chine et au Tibet, et continuera à exhorter la Chine à répondre à ses obligations internationales.”

En novembre 2018, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé un financement de 5,4 millions$ pour promouvoir la préservation de la culture et de la langue tibétaine à travers des pratiques d’enseignement sexospécifiques dans les écoles tibétaines d’Inde et du Népal. [2]

# # #

[1] La déclaration de la ministre Freeland se trouve ici: http://www.ourcommons.ca/Content/ePetitions/Responses/421/e-1743/421-03025_GAC_E.pdf

[2] Financement canadien pour l’éducation tibétaine: https://tibet.net/2018/11/canadian-government-announces-5-4-million-in-funding-for-tibetan-education/



 

 



Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank