Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

Canadian trade with China must respect human rights in Tibet - new report

April 30, 2019

Ottawa, May 2, 2019 – In a new report released today, the Canada Tibet Committee is calling on the Government of Canada to assess the impact of its trade and investment policy on human rights in Tibet, and to adopt responsive measures that safeguard Tibet’s cultural identity and emphasize local ownership of the regional economy.

Trade and Human Rights in Tibet: Considerations for a human right sensitive trade policy is the result of a year-long collaborative effort involving civil society, the Tibetan community in Canada, and academia. The paper looks at Canada-China trade through a human rights lens, describes how Tibetans are particularly disadvantaged within the Chinese economy, and highlights specific sectors of concern.

We are not against trade with China” said Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee. “But we expect Canada to conduct due diligence and to take action to avoid potential negative human rights impacts in Tibet.”

The paper makes a series of recommendations beginning with the adoption of a “Canada-Tibet Policy Act” to ensure that various Government of Canada policies and programs including trade, reflect Canadian values and do not negatively impact human rights in Tibet. The paper also calls for reciprocal diplomatic access to Tibet before any negotiation of sectoral trade agreements with China [1] and it reiterates the civil society demand for a full human rights impact assessment of any future trade agreement with China. [2]

Release of the paper is accompanied by an online compilation of project resources including workshop reports, survey results, and illustrative impact indicators. [3]

# # # #

[1] See Minister Chrystia Freeland response to Order Paper Question Q-1858, June 13, 2018: “The Government of Canada has made multiple and continued requests to the Government of the PRC for the permissions required to visit Tibet. These requests have been for visits to Tibet by diplomatic personnel and by the Ambassador of Canada to China. Since 2016, no visit request has been approved.”

 

[2] See open letter to PM Justin Trudeau from the Canadian Coalition on Human Rights in China, November 2017 posted at https://www.amnesty.ca

 

[3] The online compilation of project resources is found at http://tibet.ca/en/campaigns/economic_rights

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Les échanges commerciaux du Canada avec la Chine doivent respecter les droits humains au Tibet – nouveau rapport

April 30, 2019

Ottawa, le 2 mai 2019 – Dans un nouveau rapport lancé aujourdhui, le Comité Canada Tibet demande au gouvernement du Canada didentifier limpact de ses politiques déchanges commerciaux et dinvestissements sur les droits humains au Tibet, et dadopter des mesures réactives qui protègent lidentité culturelle du Tibet et mettent laccent sur la propriété locale de léconomie régionale.

Le rapport Commerce et droits humains au Tibet : considérations pour une politique commerciale qui tienne compte les droits humains est le résultat dune collaboration dune année entre la société civile, la communauté tibétaine du Canada et le monde académique. Le document fait une analyse du commerce entre le Canada et la Chine, dune perspective des droits humains, décrit comment les Tibétains sont particulièrement désavantagés dans le cadre de léconomie chinoise et souligne des secteurs particuliers préoccupants.

Nous ne sommes pas contre le commerce avec la Chine” affirme Sherap Therchin, directeur général du Comité Canada Tibet. “Par contre, nous nous attendons à ce que le Canada exécute la diligence requise et prenne des mesures fermes afin déviter les impacts négatifs potentiels sur les droits humains au Tibet.”

Le rapport avance une série de recommandations, en commençant par ladoption dune “Loi sur la politique Canada-Tibet” afin dassurer que les politiques et les programmes du gouvernement canadien, incluant le commerce, reflètent les valeurs canadiennes et nont pas dimpacts négatifs sur les droits humains au Tibet. Le document demande aussi laccès diplomatique réciproque au Tibet, avant toute négociation daccords commerciaux sectoriels avec la Chine [1] et réitère la demande de la société civile dexaminer limpact sur les droits humains des futurs accords commerciaux avec la Chine. [2]

Le lancement du rapport est accompagné par une compilation des ressources du projet, disponible en ligne, incluant des rapports dateliers, des résultats de sondages et des indicateurs dimpact. [3]

# # # #

[1] Lire la réponse de la ministre Chrystia Freeland à la question au Feuilleton Q-1858, en date du 13 juin 2018: “Le gouvernement du Canada a fait de nombreuses demandes au gouvernement de la RPC pour obtenir les permissions requises afin de visiter le Tibet. Ces demandes visaient des visites au Tibet par du personnel diplomatique et par lambassadeur canadien en Chine. Depuis 2016, aucune demande de visite na été approuvée.”

[2] Lire la lettre ouverte adressée au PM Justin Trudeau par la Coalition canadienne pour les droits humains en Chine, publiée en novembre 2017, disponible sur https://www.amnesty.ca

[3] La compilation des ressources du projet est disponible en ligne à ladresse http://tibet.ca/en/campaigns/economic_rights

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank