Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

A motion on Tibet presented in the Senate of Canada calling for Canada's support to the genuine autonomy of Tibet

May 16, 2019

Canada Tibet Committee, May 15, 2019: On May 14, Senator Thanh Hai Ngo presented a motion on Tibet in the Senate of Canada calling the Government of Canada to actively support the genuine autonomy of Tibet. The Senator reiterated the key points of the proposed motion to have Canada call on the People’s Republic of Chinato grant genuine autonomy to the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) and greater Tibet and restart Sino-Tibetan dialogue.“Since I last spoke on this issue on November 23, 2017, I remain deeply distraught by the fact that the human rights situation in Tibet has not improved. The fundamental rights and freedoms that we have been granted and continue to protect here in Canada, including freedom of expression, religion, movement and conscience, are severely restricted and increasingly repressive in the Tibetan Autonomous Region, TAR, and in greater Tibet.” said Senator Ngo.[i]

The repression of religious freedoms in Tibet and ongoing erosion of linguistic freedom was raised with the destruction of Larung Gar and the imprisonment of Tibetan language advocate Tashi Wangchuk. He also called on Canada to ask for reciprocal diplomatic access to Tibet, while citing how Stephan Dion as Minister of Foreign Affairs had previously recommended this.

In June 2018, under the initiative of Senator Thanh Hai Ngo, the Senate Standing Committees on Human Rights, and Foreign Affairs and International Trade hosted a special meeting to hear the Central Tibetan Administration President Dr. Lobsang Sangay speak on Tibet’s geopolitical importance and aspirations of Tibetan people.To explain the true aspirations of Tibetan people to seek genuine autonomy within China, Dr. Sangay highlighted reports on Tibet by Freedom House and Reporters Without Borders. According to the Freedom House, Tibet is the second least free places in the world, after Syria. However, for nearly six decades, Tibetans continue to pursue non-violence, tolerance and compassion to preserve their language, land, religion and culture.[ii]

 

[i]Motion on Tibet http://senatorngo.ca/motion-on-tibet/

[ii]Dr. Lobsang Sangay presented before the Senate Standing Committees on Human Rights, and Foreing Affairs and International Trade  http://tibet.ca/en/library/media_releases/444 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Une motion sur le Tibet présentée au Sénat du Canada demandant le soutien du Canada au Tibet

May 16, 2019

Comité Canada Tibet, 15 mai 2019: Le 14 mai, le sénateur Thanh Hai Ngo a présenté une motion sur le Tibet au Sénat du Canada appelant le gouvernement du Canada à soutenir activement la véritable autonomie du Tibet. Le sénateur a réitéré les points clés de la proposition de motion visant à ce que le Canada demande à la République populaire de Chinato d'accorder une véritable autonomie à la région autonome du Tibet (TAR) et au Grand Tibet et de relancer le dialogue sino-tibétain. «Depuis ma dernière intervention sur cette question, Le 23 novembre 2017, je reste profondément bouleversé par le fait que la situation des droits de l'homme au Tibet ne s'est pas améliorée. Les droits et libertés fondamentaux qui nous ont été accordés et continuent de protéger ici au Canada, y compris la liberté d'expression, de religion, de mouvement et de conscience, sont sévèrement restreints et de plus en plus répressifs dans la région autonome du Tibet, TAR, et dans le Grand Tibet. » a déclaré le sénateur Ngo. [i] 

La répression des libertés religieuses au Tibet et l'érosion continue de la liberté linguistique ont été soulevées avec la destruction de Larung Gar et l'emprisonnement du défenseur de la langue tibétaine Tashi Wangchuk. Il a également appelé le Canada à demander un accès diplomatique réciproque au Tibet, tout en citant comment Stephan Dion, ministre des Affaires étrangères, avait précédemment recommandé cela. 

En juin 2018, à l'initiative du sénateur Thanh Hai Ngo, les comités sénatoriaux permanents des droits de l'homme et des affaires étrangères et du commerce international ont organisé une réunion spéciale pour entendre le président de l'administration centrale tibétaine, le Dr Lobsang Sangay, parler de l'importance géopolitique du Tibet et des aspirations de Peuple tibétain Pour expliquer les véritables aspirations du peuple tibétain à rechercher une véritable autonomie en Chine, le Dr Sangay a souligné les rapports sur le Tibet de Freedom House et Reporters sans frontières. Selon Freedom House, le Tibet est le deuxième endroit le moins libre au monde, après la Syrie. Cependant, pendant près de six décennies, les Tibétains continuent de rechercher la non-violence, la tolérance et la compassion pour préserver leur langue, leur terre, leur religion et leur culture. [Ii]

[i] Motion sur le Tibet http://senatorngo.ca/motion-on-tibet/

[ii] Dr. Lobsang Sangay présenté devant les comités sénatoriaux permanents des droits de la personne, des affaires étrangères et du commerce international http://tibet.ca/en/library/media_releases/444

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank