Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

CTC and Office of Tibet urge Canadian parliamentarians and think tanks for a sense of urgency on Tibet issues

February 06, 2020

Ottawa, February 5, 2020: Representative of Office of Tibet in Washington DC Mr. Ngodup Tsering and CTC director Sherap Therchin called on Canadian parliamentarians, think tanks and top international diplomats in Ottawa to support human rights and democratic freedoms of the Tibetan people. 

The series of meetings over two days included a meeting with over 25 Members of Parliament representing all major political parties where Representative Ngodup Tsering and Canada Tibet Committee’s director Sherap Therchin congratulated the MPs for their successful election and return to Parliamentary Friends of Tibet (PFT) group. Among those returning to the PFT group after the federal election in October 2019 are Liberal MP Arif Virani as chair of the group, MP Garnett Genuis as vice-chair representing Conservative Party of Canada, MP Randall Garrison as vice-chair representing New Democratic Party, and MP James Maloney as vice-chair representing Liberal Party of Canada. Two new executive members are joining the group as vice-chairs: MP Alexis Brunel-Duceppe representing Bloc Québécois and MP Paul Manly representing the Green Party of Canada. The participating MPs across all party lines expressed their commitment to take a stand against China’s discriminatory policies in Tibet and to broker negotiations between the representatives of His Holiness the Dalai Lama and China through various parliamentary procedures.

Accompanied by the president of Ottawa Tibetan Community Association Mr. Lobsang Tsewang, the delegates also met with Senator Thanh Hai Ngo to discuss the next steps of strengthening Tibet advocacy at the Canadian Senate and to thank him for his incredible support to Tibet issues. Last year, Senator Ngo hosted Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay to testify before the Senate Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade and introduced a motion on Tibet calling for Canada’s support to CTA’s Middle Way Approach and reciprocal access to Tibet. 

As part of reaching out to Canadian think tanks, Representative Ngodup Tsering and CTC director Sherap Therchin met with Communications Director of Macdonald-Laurier Institute Mr. David Watson, and the co-executive director of Women’s Nobel Initiative Ms. Liz Bernstein. Macdonald-Laurier Institute, a key think tank in Canada-China policies, has been instrumental in promoting awareness about China’s record of human rights violations. Women’s Nobel Initiative has led a delegation of women Nobel laureates to meet His Holiness the Dalai Lama in past. 

Representative Ngodup Tsering and Sherap also met with Taiwanese ambassador in Ottawa Mr. Winston Wen-yi Chen todiscuss the commonly shared values of democracy and human rights.

Concluding the series of important meetings in Ottawa, the President of Ottawa Tibetan Community Association Lobsang Tsewang hosted a thank-you dinner to Representative Ngodup Tsering for his commitment and hard work in promoting Tibet issues.

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

La CCT et le Bureau du Tibet exhortent les parlementaires et les groupes de réflexion canadiens à faire preuve d'un sentiment d'urgence sur les questions concernant le Tibet

February 06, 2020

Ottawa, 5 février 2020: le représentant du Bureau du Tibet à Washington DC, M. Ngodup Tsering et le directeur de la CCT Sherap Therchin ont appelé les parlementaires canadiens, les groupes de réflexion et les meilleurs diplomates internationaux à Ottawa pour soutenir les droits de l'homme et les libertés démocratiques du peuple tibétain.

La série de réunions sur deux jours comprenait une réunion avec plus de 25 députés représentant tous les principaux partis politiques où le représentant Ngodup Tsering et le directeur du Comité Canada Tibet Sherap Therchin ont félicité les députés pour leur élection réussie et leur retour au groupe des amis parlementaires du Tibet (PFT) . Parmi les personnes qui reviennent dans le groupe PFT après les élections fédérales d'octobre 2019 figurent le député libéral Arif Virani à la présidence du groupe, le député Garnett Genuis à la vice-présidence représentant le Parti conservateur du Canada, le député Randall Garrison à la vice-présidence représentant le Nouveau Parti démocratique, et le député James Maloney à titre de vice-président représentant le Parti libéral du Canada. Deux nouveaux membres de l'exécutif se joignent au groupe à titre de vice-présidents: le député Alexis Brunel-Duceppe représentant le Bloc québécois et le député Paul Manly représentant le Parti vert du Canada. Les députés participants de tous les partis ont exprimé leur engagement à prendre position contre les politiques discriminatoires de la Chine au Tibet et à négocier les négociations entre les représentants de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama et la Chine à travers diverses procédures parlementaires. 

Accompagnés du président de l'Association de la communauté tibétaine d'Ottawa, M. Lobsang Tsewang, les délégués ont également rencontré le sénateur Thanh Hai Ngo pour discuter des prochaines étapes du renforcement de la défense du Tibet au Sénat canadien et le remercier de son incroyable soutien aux questions tibétaines. L'année dernière, le sénateur Ngo a accueilli Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay pour témoigner devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international et a présenté une motion sur le Tibet appelant le Canada à soutenir l'approche médiane du CTA et l'accès réciproque au Tibet. 

Dans le cadre de ses contacts avec les groupes de réflexion canadiens, la représentante Ngodup Tsering et la directrice de la CCT, Sherap Therchin, ont rencontré le directeur des communications de l'Institut Macdonald-Laurier, M. David Watson, et la codirectrice exécutive de la Women's Nobel Initiative, Mme Liz Bernstein. L’Institut Macdonald-Laurier, un important groupe de réflexion sur les politiques canado-chinoises, a contribué à faire connaître le bilan des violations des droits de la personne en Chine. L'Initiative Femmes Nobel a conduit une délégation de femmes prix Nobel à rencontrer Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama dans le passé.

Le représentant Ngodup Tsering et Sherap ont également rencontré l'ambassadeur de Taïwan à Ottawa, M. Winston Wen-yi Chen, pour discuter des valeurs communes de la démocratie et des droits de l'homme.

En conclusion de la série de réunions importantes à Ottawa, le président de l'Association de la communauté tibétaine d'Ottawa Lobsang Tsewang a organisé un dîner de remerciement avec le représentant Ngodup Tsering pour son engagement et son travail acharné dans la promotion des questions tibétaines.

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank