Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

21 Canadian MPs and Senator call for Canada’s support to release the 11th Panchen Lama and his family

May 21, 2020

Ottawa, May 21, 2020 – To mark the 25th anniversary of the disappearance of 11th Panchen Lama – Gedhun Choekyi Nyima, 21 Members of Parliament and Senator from Canada signed a letter calling for Canada’s support for the immediate release of Panchen Lama and his entire family, and for an independent fact-finding mission to assess the human rights violations perpetrated against Tibetans in Tibet and other regions in China.

The letter highlights China's interference in the sacred Buddhist traditions of recognizing the reincarnation of lamas and how it sets a dangerous precedent for possible interference in the process of identifying the reincarnations of future Dalai Lamas.

Since 1995, several governments, including Canadian governments, have requested permission to visit the Panchen Lama in order to verify his safety and well-being. Efforts by human rights organizations including the UN Committee Against Torture, the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child, as well as Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief, have been unsuccessful.

In May 2018, a group of Tibetan representatives appointed by China visited Ottawa and testified before Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development. During the testimony, Canadian MP Garnett Genuis asked the delegates on whereabouts of Panchen Lama and his family. The delegates responded that Panchen Lama is living a private life and does not wish to be disturbed. 

“It’s high time for the international community to take a real, strong stand against the human rights violations China commit on regular basis in Tibet, East Turkistan and other parts of China”, said Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of Canada Tibet Committee. “the pattern of China interfering in human rights development internationally that we see today started with Tibet about 60 years ago.”

Tibet's Panchen Lama was just six years old when Chinese authorities abducted him. Since then, neither he nor his family has been seen or heard.

List of parliamentarians who signed/endorsed the letter:

  1. MP Randall Garrison, National Democratic Party
  2. MP Paul Manly, Green Party of Canada
  3. MP Elizabeth May, Green Party of Canada
  4. MP Jenica Atwin G,reen Party of Canada
  5. MP Garnett Genuis, Conservative Party of Canada
  6. MP Ziad Aboultaif, Conservative Party of Canada
  7. MP Colin Carrie, Conservative Party of Canada
  8. MP Kerry Diotte, Conservative Party of Canada
  9. MP Kerry-Lynne Findlay, Conservative Party of Canada
  10. MP Jasraj Singh Hallan, Conservative Party of Canada
  11. MP Marty Morantz, Conservative Party of Canada
  12. MP Scott Reid, Conservative Party of Canada
  13. MP Nelly Shin, Conservative Party of Canada
  14. MP Karen Vecchio, Conservative Party of Canada
  15. MP Arnold Viersen, Conservative Party of Canada
  16. MP Cathay Wagantall, Conservative Party of Canada
  17. MP Arif Virani, Liberal Party of Canada
  18. MP James Maloney, Liberal Party of Canada
  19. MP Sven Spengemann, Liberal Party of Canada
  20. MP Larry Bagnell, Liberal Party of Canada
  21. Senator Mobina Jaffer

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

21 députés et sénateur canadiens demandent l’appui du Canada pour libérer le 11e Panchen Lama et sa famille

May 21, 2020

Ottawa, le 21 mai 2020 - À l'occasion du 25e anniversaire de la disparition du 11e Panchen Lama - Gedhun Choekyi Nyima, 21 députés et sénateur du Canada ont signé une lettre demandant au Canada d'appuyer la libération immédiate du Panchen Lama et de toute sa famille et pour une mission d'enquête indépendante chargée d'évaluer les violations des droits de l'homme perpétrées contre les Tibétains au Tibet et dans d'autres régions de Chine.

La lettre met en évidence l'interférence de la Chine dans les traditions bouddhistes sacrées de reconnaissance de la réincarnation des lamas et comment elle crée un précédent dangereux pour une éventuelle ingérence dans le processus d'identification des réincarnations des futurs dalaï-lamas.

Depuis 1995, plusieurs gouvernements, y compris des gouvernements canadiens, ont demandé la permission de visiter le Panchen Lama afin de vérifier sa sécurité et son bien-être. Les efforts déployés par des organisations de défense des droits de l'homme, notamment le Comité des Nations Unies contre la torture, le Comité des droits de l'enfant des Nations Unies et le Rapporteur spécial sur la liberté de religion ou de conviction, ont échoué.

En mai 2018, un groupe de représentants tibétains nommés par la Chine s'est rendu à Ottawa et a témoigné devant le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international. Lors du témoignage, le député canadien Garnett Genuis a demandé aux délégués où se trouvait Panchen Lama et sa famille. Les délégués ont répondu que Panchen Lama mène une vie privée et ne souhaite pas être dérangé.

«Il est grand temps que la communauté internationale prenne une position réelle et ferme contre les violations des droits de l'homme que la Chine commet régulièrement au Tibet, au Turkestan oriental et dans d'autres parties de la Chine», a déclaré Sherap Therchin, directrice exécutive du Canada Tibet Committee. "Le modèle de la Chine interférant dans le développement des droits humains au niveau international que nous voyons aujourd'hui a commencé avec le Tibet il y a environ 60 ans."

Le Panchen Lama du Tibet n'avait que six ans lorsque les autorités chinoises l'ont enlevé. Depuis lors, ni lui ni sa famille n'ont été vus ou entendus.

Liste des parlementaires qui ont signé / approuvé la lettre:
  1. MP Randall Garrison, National Democratic Party
  2. MP Paul Manly, Green Party of Canada
  3. MP Elizabeth May, Green Party of Canada
  4. MP Jenica Atwin G,reen Party of Canada
  5. MP Garnett Genuis, Conservative Party of Canada
  6. MP Ziad Aboultaif, Conservative Party of Canada
  7. MP Colin Carrie, Conservative Party of Canada
  8. MP Kerry Diotte, Conservative Party of Canada
  9. MP Kerry-Lynne Findlay, Conservative Party of Canada
  10. MP Jasraj Singh Hallan, Conservative Party of Canada
  11. MP Marty Morantz, Conservative Party of Canada
  12. MP Scott Reid, Conservative Party of Canada
  13. MP Nelly Shin, Conservative Party of Canada
  14. MP Karen Vecchio, Conservative Party of Canada
  15. MP Arnold Viersen, Conservative Party of Canada
  16. MP Cathay Wagantall, Conservative Party of Canada
  17. MP Arif Virani, Liberal Party of Canada
  18. MP James Maloney, Liberal Party of Canada
  19. MP Sven Spengemann, Liberal Party of Canada
  20. MP Larry Bagnell, Liberal Party of Canada
  21. Senator Mobina Jaffer

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank