Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

Remembering Dermod Travis: Former CTC Executive Director passes away

June 03, 2020

Ottawa, June 3, 2020:  The Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) Board of Directors, staff, and volunteers are today mourning the loss of their former Executive Director and Tibet activist, Dermod Travis, who passed away this week in Victoria, British Columbia at age 59. [1] Dermod led the CTC from 2007-2012.

“We have lost a tireless human rights advocate for Tibet, a beloved colleague, and a comrade-in-arms.” said Sherap Therchin, current CTC Executive Director.  “Our deepest and sincere condolences go out to Dermod’s family and friends at this very sad time.”

"I worked alongside Dermod while he led the CTC” said Luisa Durante, now a member of the Board of Directors.  “He was humble, embodying a life of service to things that mattered to him. It was a pleasure to work alongside Dermod and I am grateful to have known him.” 

In a message sent today, Alex Neve, Secretary General of Amnesty International Canada, said “Many of us worked very closely with Dermod Travis during the years that he headed up the Canada Tibet Committee. He will be widely and deeply missed.”

Dermod is fondly remembered by the Tibetan community and its supporters across Canada.  With wit and insight, he built a relationship of trust with both government bureaucrats and parliamentarians leveraging those contacts to organize visits to Canada by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and by Tibetan officials.  As a communications specialist, Dermod was responsible for upgrading the CTC website, launching its social media platforms, creating a video outreach series, and designing numerous national campaigns to raise awareness of the Tibetan cause across Canada.

In the lead up to the 2008 Beijing Olympics, Dermod was a driving force behind the Race for Rights initiative that featured a 7,700 km cross-Canada bike ride by Team Canada member David Kay to highlight prisoners of conscience.

In 2009, Dermod led the initiative to compile declassified federal government documents, including a 1950 legal opinion from the Department of External Affairs stating that Tibet qualified for recognition as an independent state at the time Chinese forces invaded the country. [2] 

In the years when Canadian mining companies were heavily invested in Tibet, Dermod exposed associated human rights violations and demanded corporate accountability and government sanctions.  Later, he launched a national campaign to highlight the role played by Canadian companies in construction of the Gormo-Lhasa railway. [3]

Dermod was most proud of the key role he played in securing the Tibet immigration program for displaced Tibetans in India.  He oversaw the multi-year negotiation with the Government of Canada concluding with an agreement that enabled 1000 Tibetans from Arunachal Pradesh to resettle in Canada from 2002-2017. [4]

After leaving the CTC in 2012 to head up a newly-created organization called Integrity BC, Dermod remained active in the Tibet movement as a valued donor and an advisor to the CTC.  He also continued his involvement with the immigration program by joining its implementing agency, Project Tibet Society. 

As we remember Dermod today, his often repeated message remains decidedly relevant:  “The only way ahead is when human rights and democratic values are at the core of our foreign policy.” [5] 

Thank you Dermod – you are remembered.

 

#  #  #

 [1] Dermod Travis, B.C.'s 'selfless and persistent' political watchdog, dies in hospital, CBC June 1, 2020 https://www.cbc.ca/news/ canada/british-columbia/b-c- loses-selfless-and-persistent- political-watchdog-1.5594144

[2] Secret: Government of Canada correspondence about Tibet 1944-1969 Canada Tibet Committee, 2008 http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/ secret_canada_tibet_file.pdf

[3] For example, Bombardier contre le dalaï-lama, LaPresse, April 26, 2011, https://www.lapresse.ca/ international/201104/26/01- 4393330-bombardier-contre-le- dalai-lama.php

[4] 1000 new Tibetans, Canada Tibet Committee 2012, http://tibet.ca/en/tibet_and_ canada/1000_new_tibetans

[5] Tibetan rights trump trade say Canadians, Canada Tibet Committee, September 2007, http://tibet.ca/en/library/ media_releases/80

 

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

À la mémoire de Dermod Travis: Le CCT commémore son ancien directeur général

June 03, 2020

Ottawa, le 3 juin 2020: Le Conseil d’administration, les employés et bénévoles du Comité Canada Tibet commémorent aujourd’hui la perte de Dermod Travis, ancien directeur général et activiste dévoué à la cause du Tibet, décédé cette semaine à Victoria, en Colombie Britannique, à l’âge de 59 ans. [1] M. Travis avait dirigé le CCT de 2007 à 2012.

“Nous avons perdu un défenseur infatigable des droits humains au Tibet, un cher collègue et un compagnon d’armes”, a affirmé Sherap Therchin, directeur général du CCT.  “Nous envoyons nos sincères condoléances à la famille et aux amis de Dermod, en ce moment si triste.”

"J’ai travaillé avec Dermod pendant qu’il dirigeait le CCT”, a affirmé Luisa Durante, membre du Conseil d’administration. “Il était humble, l’image même d’une vie au service des causes qui lui étaient chères. Ce fut un plaisir de travailler à ses côtés, je suis reconnaissante de l’avoir rencontré.” 

Dans un message envoyé aujourd’hui, Alex Neve, Secrétaire général d’Amnistie Internationale Canada, a affirmé “Beaucoup d’entre nous avons travaillé avec Dermod Travis pendant les années où il dirigeait le Comité Canada Tibet. Il nous manquera beaucoup et restera dans notre mémoire.”

Dermod restera aussi présent dans la mémoire de la communauté tibétaine du Canada et de ses supporters. Avec intelligence et perspicacité, il avait bâti une relation de confiance avec les fonctionnaires du gouvernement et les membres du parlement, et utilisé ces contacts pour organiser des visites au Canada par Sa Sainteté le Dalai Lama et des représentants du gouvernement tibétain. En tant que spécialiste des communications, Dermod a mis à jour le site web du CCT, lancé ses plateformes de médias sociaux, créé une série de vidéos de sensibilisation et conçu de nombreuses campagnes de sensibilisation à la cause du Tibet au Canada.

Avant les jeux olympiques de Pékin, en 2008, Dermod avait été la force directrice derrière l’initiative Course pour les droits / Race for Rights, une course en vélo de 7,700km par le membre de l’équipe canadienne David Kay, visant à mettre en avant les prisonniers de conscience.

En 2009, Dermod avait mené l’initiative de recueillir des documents gouvernementaux déclassés, incluant un document officiel du Département des affaires étrangères, datant de 1950, affirmant que le Tibet se qualifiait pour le statut d’état indépendant lors de l’invasion des forces chinoises. [2] 

Pendant la période où des compagnies minières canadiennes étaient très présentes au Tibet, Dermod avait dénoncé leurs violations des droits humains et demandé l’établissement de la responsabilisation des entreprises et des sanctions de la part du gouvernement. Plus tard, il avait lancé une campagne nationale afin de révéler le rôle des compagnies canadiennes dans la construction de la voie ferrée Gormo-Lhassa. [3]

Dermod était le plus fier de son rôle dans l’établissement d’un programme d’immigration pour tibétains réfugiés en Inde. Pendant plusieurs années, il avait assuré la négociation avec le Gouvernement du Canada, dont le résultat fut un accord permettant à 1000 tibétains de l’état Arunachal Pradesh de s’établir au Canada, de 2002 à 2017. [4]

Après avoir quitté le CCT, en 2012, afin de diriger une organisation nouvellement formée, Integrity BC, Dermod est resté actif au sein du mouvement pour le Tibet, en tant que donateur et conseiller pour le CCT. Il avait aussi continué son implication au sein du programme d’immigration en se joignant à l’équipe de son agence d’implémentation, Project Tibet Society.  

Aujourd’hui, lorsque nous commémorons Dermod, son message, répété maintes fois, demeure plus pertinent que jamais: “La seule manière d’avancer est de placer les droits humains et les valeurs démocratiques au centre de notre politique étrangère.” [5] 

Merci pour tout, Dermod – tu restes à jamais dans notre mémoire.

 

#  #  #

 [1] Dermod Travis, B.C.'s 'selfless and persistent' political watchdog, dies in hospital, CBC June 1, 2020 https://www.cbc.ca/news/ canada/british-columbia/b-c- loses-selfless-and-persistent- political-watchdog-1.5594144

[2] Secret: Government of Canada correspondence about Tibet 1944-1969 Comité Canada Tibet, 2008 http://tibet.ca/_media/PDF/ secret_canada_tibet_file.pdf

[3] Bombardier contre le dalaï-lama, LaPresse, April 26, 2011, https://www.lapresse.ca/ international/201104/26/01- 4393330-bombardier-contre-le- dalai-lama.php

[4] 1000 nouveaux Tibétains, Comité Canada Tibet 2012, http://www.tibet.ca/fr/tibet_ and_canada/1000_new_tibetans

[5] Tibetan rights trump trade say Canadians, Comité Canada Tibet, September 2007, http://tibet.ca/en/library/ media_releases/80

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank