Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

The Canada-China committee unanimously passes a motion supporting Sino-Tibetan dialogue

August 19, 2020

Ottawa, August 17, 2020 – The Special Committee on Canada-China Relations unanimously passed a motion calling for Canada’s support to the dialogue between the representatives of His Holiness the Dalai Lama and Central Tibetan Administration, and the government of People’s Republic of China.   

The motion was originally introduced by MP Garnett Genuis on August 6th during the testimony of Tibetan political leader Dr. Lobsang Sangay. The special committee voted to adjourn the motion. During the adjournment period, Tibet groups and associations in Canada, led by Canada Tibet Committee, lobbied for all-party support to the motion.

This unanimous approval of the motion marks a significant step for the international community to put more pressure on China to resume the Sino-Tibetan dialogue which has been stalled since 2010.

The motion will be brought to House of Commons in September.

The Committee was appointed to conduct hearings to examine and review all aspects of the Canada-China relationship, including, but not limited to consular, economic, legal, security and diplomatic relations.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Le Comité Canada-Chine adopte à l'unanimité une motion appuyant le dialogue sino-tibétain

August 19, 2020

Ottawa, 17 août 2020 – Le Comité spécial sur les relations Canada-Chine a adopté à l’unanimité une motion demandant l’appui du Canada au dialogue entre les représentants de sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama, et de l’Administration centrale tibétaine ainsi que du gouvernement de la République populaire de Chine.

La motion a été initialement introduite par le député Garnett Genuis le 6 août lors du témoignage du leader politique tibétain Dr Lobsang Sangay. Le comité spécial a voté l’ajournement de la motion. Pendant la période d’ajournement, des associations et groupes tibétains au Canada, dirigés par le Comité Canada-Tibet, ont fait pression pour obtenir l’appui de tous les partis à la motion.

Cette approbation unanime de la motion marque une étape importante pour la communauté internationale pour mettre plus de pression sur la Chine pour qu’elle reprenne le dialogue sino-tibétain qui est au point mort depuis 2010.

La motion sera présentée à la Chambre des communes en septembre.

Le Comité a été nommé pour tenir des audiences afin d'examiner et de réviser tous les aspects de la relation Canada-Chine, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, les relations consulaires, économiques, juridiques, de sécurité et diplomatiques.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank