Join our Mailing List

"I believe that to meet the challenges of our times, human beings will have to develop a greater sense of universal responsibility. It is the foundation for world peace."

The Government of Canada shares its current reading of the situation in Tibet

November 22, 2020

Ottawa, November 21, 2020 - As part of an ongoing study of China-related issues by the Parliamentary Committee on Canada-China Relations, Mr. Shawn Steil, the Executive Director, Greater China Policy and Coordination, Global Affairs Canada testified on Tibet before the committee on November 17th.

The testimony covered a wide range of topics including Canada’s growing concerns over the increased crackdowns on Tibetan people in the last decade, the lack of reliable information coming from within Tibet and the difficulties faced by foreign diplomats in their efforts to visit the area in person, Canada’s position on the status of Tibet, Middle Way Approach and the Central Tibetan Administration, and specific issues such as forced labour and resettlement of Tibetan nomads, as well as Chinese interference in Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay’s visit to Ottawa.

Describing the difficulty of access to Tibet, Mr. Steil says “access to Tibet remains strictly controlled by the Chinese government and on rare occasions when official visits are allowed, they are highly scripted. In recent years, Tibet’s central government has made it more difficult for diplomats, journalists and foreigners overall to visit - a travel permit and an invitation is necessary”. Recently, Canada’s ambassador to China, Dominic Barton visited Tibet’s capital Lhasa, at the invitation of the Chinese government. It was the first visit by a Canadian official since 2015.

“The lack of meaningful access to Tibet is one aspect of severe restrictions imposed by Chinese authorities on the Tibetan people. The Government of Canada remains deeply concerned about the human rights situation affecting Tibetans, in line with reports such as those by NGOs and by the UN Committee on Elimination of Racial Discrimination” adds the Executive Director, Global Affairs Canada.

Mr. Steil was asked questions by several members of the committee, including one by MP John Williamson seeking clarification on Canada’s stance towards the Middle Way Approach. In response, Mr. Steil notes that while Canada does not take a particular position regarding the Middle Way Approach, the government has consistently advocated for the Government of China to engage in meaningful dialogue with the Dalai Lama and his representatives in the Central Tibetan Administration.

“The content of that dialogue we haven't taken a position on, but certainly we recognize that the middle-way approach does refute the complaint that we often hear from the Chinese government that the Dalai Lama and his ‘clique’ are separatists and troublemakers trying to split the country. If they were listening to what Lobsang Sangay and others are saying about the middle-way approach, they would recognize that splitting the country is not what they're looking for,” said Executive Director Shawn Steil.

The last talks held between envoys of the Dalai Lama and the Government of China took place in 2010. The resumption of this exchange remains a key priority for the Central Tibetan Administration, and for candidates of the upcoming CTA leadership elections.

Tibetans in Canada remain hopeful that Canada can play a vital role in facilitating the resumption of Sino-Tibetan dialogue. During the testimony, Chair of Canadian Parliamentary Friends of Tibet, MP Arif Virani, drew comparisons between the search for genuine autonomy for the Tibetan people inside Tibet to the model of Canada’s federation, which has established regions to promote linguistic, cultural, and religious devolution, whilst still operating within the broader framework of the federal constitution.

Sherap Therchin, the Executive Director of the Canada Tibet Committee, echoes MP Virani’s sentiments, that “Canada enjoys a wealth of experience negotiating autonomy arrangements with its First Nations and with provincial governments. Such expertise would be of great value in the Tibetan context and we encourage your government to find a suitable opportunity to share lessons learned with concerned parties.”

The testimony comes on the heels of the recent visit by Canadian Ambassador in Beijing Mr. Dominic Barton to Tibet, and follows the unanimous approval of a resolution calling for Sino-Tibetan dialogue by the Canada-China committee in August.

Video link to the testimony: https://parlvu.parl.gc.ca/Harmony/en/PowerBrowser/PowerBrowserV2/20201117/-1/34278?Language=English&Stream=Video&fbclid=IwAR1u-3CV_GNEjrEULLyEgDVJ1cCoamE_YHyLN-BZfu0NfnVHNjLnBCrqJZg

By Sherap Therchin and Anvesh Jain

Anvesh is Research Associate at Canada Tibet Committee and a student of International Relations at the University of Toronto.

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Le Gouvernement du Canada partage sa lecture actuelle de la situation au Tibet.

November 22, 2020

Ottawa, 21 novembre 2020 - Dans le cadre d'une étude en cours sur les questions liées à la Chine par le Comité parlementaire sur les relations sino-canadiennes, M. Shawn Steil, directeur général, Politique et coordination de la Chine élargie (Affaires mondiales Canada), a témoigné sur le Tibet devant le comité le 17 novembre.

Les témoignages ont couvert un large éventail de sujets, notamment les préoccupations croissantes du Canada concernant la répression accrue du peuple tibétain au cours de la dernière décennie, le manque d'informations fiables provenant de l'intérieur du Tibet et les difficultés rencontrées par les diplomates étrangers dans leurs efforts pour visiter la région en personne, la position du Canada sur le statut du Tibet, l'approche de la voie médiane et l'Administration centrale tibétaine, et des questions spécifiques telles que le travail forcé et la réinstallation des nomades tibétains, ainsi que l'ingérence chinoise dans la visite de Sikyong Dr Lobsang Sangay à Ottawa.

Décrivant la difficulté d'accès au Tibet, M. Steil déclare que "l'accès au Tibet reste strictement contrôlé par le gouvernement chinois et, en de rares occasions, lorsque les visites officielles sont autorisées, elles sont très bien programmées. Ces dernières années, le gouvernement central du Tibet a généralement rendu les visites des diplomates, journalistes et étrangers plus difficiles - un permis de voyage et une invitation sont nécessaires". Récemment, l'ambassadeur du Canada en Chine, Dominic Barton, a visité la capitale du Tibet, Lhassa, à l'invitation du gouvernement chinois. C'était la première visite d'un fonctionnaire canadien depuis 2015.

"L'absence d'accès significatif au Tibet est un aspect des restrictions sévères imposées par les autorités chinoises au peuple tibétain. Le gouvernement du Canada reste profondément préoccupé par la situation des droits de l'homme touchant les Tibétains, conformément aux rapports tels que ceux des ONG et du Comité des Nations unies pour l'élimination de la discrimination raciale", ajoute le directeur exécutif, Affaires mondiales Canada.

Plusieurs membres du comité ont posé des questions à M. Steil, dont une du député John Williamson, afin d'obtenir des éclaircissements sur la position du Canada à l'égard de l'approche de la voie médiane. En réponse, M. Steil constate que le Canada n'adopte pas de position particulière concernant la voie médiane, mais que le gouvernement a toujours préconisé l’engagement des autorités chinoises dans un dialogue significatif avec le Dalaï Lama et ses représentants au sein de l'Administration centrale tibétaine.

Nous n'avons pas pris position sur le contenu de ce dialogue, mais nous reconnaissons certainement que la voie médiane réfute la plainte que nous entendons souvent de la part du gouvernement chinois selon laquelle le Dalaï Lama et sa "clique" sont des séparatistes et des fauteurs de troubles qui tentent de diviser le pays. S'ils écoutaient ce que Lobsang Sangay et d'autres disent à propos de la voie médiane, ils reconnaîtraient que diviser le pays n'est pas ce qu'ils recherchent", a déclaré le directeur exécutif Shawn Steil.

Les derniers entretiens entre les envoyés du Dalaï Lama et le gouvernement chinois ont eu lieu en 2010. La reprise de ces échanges reste une priorité essentielle pour l'Administration centrale tibétaine, et pour les candidats aux prochaines élections à la direction de l’ACT.

Les Tibétains au Canada gardent l'espoir que le Canada puisse jouer un rôle essentiel pour faciliter la reprise du dialogue sino-tibétain. Au cours du témoignage, le président des parlementaires canadiens amis du Tibet, le député Arif Virani, a établi des comparaisons entre la recherche d'une véritable autonomie pour le peuple tibétain à l'intérieur du Tibet et le modèle de la fédération canadienne, qui a établi des régions pour promouvoir la décentralisation linguistique, culturelle et religieuse, tout en continuant à fonctionner dans le cadre plus large de la constitution fédérale.

Sherap Therchin, directeur exécutif du Comité Canada Tibet, fait écho aux sentiments du député Virani, selon lequel "le Canada jouit d'une grande expérience dans la négociation d'accords d'autonomie avec ses Premières nations et avec les gouvernements provinciaux. Une telle expertise serait d'une grande valeur dans le contexte tibétain et nous encourageons votre gouvernement à trouver une occasion appropriée de partager les leçons apprises avec les parties concernées".

Ce témoignage fait suite à l'approbation unanime d'une résolution appelant au dialogue sino-tibétain adoptée par le comité Canada-Chine en août.

Lien vidéo vers le témoignage: https://parlvu.parl.gc.ca/Harmony/en/PowerBrowser/PowerBrowserV2/20201117/-1/34278?Language=English&Stream=Video&fbclid=IwAR1u-3CV_GNEjrEULLyEgDVJ1cCoamE_YHyLN-BZfu0NfnVHNjLnBCrqJZg

Par Sherap Therchin et Anvesh Jain

Anvesh est associé de recherche au Comité Canada Tibet et étudiant en relations internationales à l'Université de Toronto.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank