Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

Ambassador Dominic Barton: “Given the age of His Holiness, there is urgency to dialogue”

December 10, 2020

Ottawa, December 10, 2020 - On December 8, Canadian Ambassador to China, Dominic Barton, testified before the Parliamentary Committee on Canada-China Relations on his recent visit to Tibet. The testimony started with a brief presentation by Ambassador Barton on what he observed during his three-day visit to Tibet’s capital Lhasa, followed by questions from the committee members about the visit and about Canada’s support for human rights in Tibet.[i] 

Prior to the visit, Ambassador Barton and senior officials of Global Affairs Canada consulted with the Canada Tibet Committee on human rights issues in Tibet and on whether participating in such state-guided visits would be beneficial for Tibetans in Tibet. It was mutually agreed that any access to Tibet, opportunity to see and meet Tibetans in person, and the mere presence of foreign diplomats in Tibet would be worth pursuing.

“We should also remember that few Tibetans have had the opportunity to connect with foreigners. I felt that it was important for Tibetans to see that outsiders still show up and care deeply about their situation and for them to see that Canada cares. For these reasons, and as part of a broader engagement on Tibetan issues, I decided to go.” said Ambassador Barton in his testimony to the Canada-China committee.

The three-day program for Ambassador Barton and diplomatic representatives from eight other nations included activities in the areas of economic development, environmental protection, education, culture, and religion. A part of the program under the theme of economic development, Ambassador Barton met former Tibetan nomads who are relocated through China’s “poverty alleviation program.”  The Chinese government asserts that all relocation and rehousing operations are entirely voluntary and respect “the will of the Tibetan farmers and herders.” It strongly denies that any forced evictions take place in the process, and suggests it is being culturally sensitive by stating that the design and appearance of the new houses suit “ethnic characteristics.” However, reports by international human rights groups and independent researchers, including Human Rights Watch[ii] and Adrian Zenz[iii], show that Tibetans are forced, coerced into mass rehousing and relocation program. Sophie Richardson, China director of Human Right Watch, said “The scale and speed at which the Tibetan rural population is being remodeled by mass rehousing and relocation policies are unprecedented in the post-Mao era. Tibetans have no say in the design of policies that are radically altering their way of life, and –  in an already highly repressive context – no ways to challenge them.”  

During the testimony, Ambassador Barton noted the recent motion[iv] on Sino-Tibetan dialogue passed by the Parliamentary Committee on Canada-China Relations as a positive development and voiced his support for the resumption of the Sino-Tibetan dialogue. In response to a question from MP Arif Virani on the promotion of the Sino-Tibetan dialogue, the ambassador said “I think we should keep pushing for dialogue, and, again, looking for this common ground because a lot of elements in that I think are what's already existing in the Chinese Constitution about what is in an autonomous region, and to do it. Given the age of His Holiness and where it (dialogue) is, I think there is some urgency to that.” 

Ambassador Barton added, “It felt pretty hard-line from the authorities when they talked about His Holiness and the group. They used pretty aggressive language, but I think we should urge for that dialogue to be able to find common ground.”

There have been a series of dialogues[v] between the representatives of His Holiness the Dalai Lama and the Central Tibetan Administration, and the government of the People’s Republic of China up until 2010. Despite China’s strong opposition to international pressure on the dialogue, various parliamentary committees from the U.S., Europe, Canada, and other groups have passed resolutions[vi] supporting the resumption of the stalled dialogue over the years. Tibetan groups in exile believe Canada is an ideal country to broker a negotiation between the two groups. “Canada, with practices of autonomy in its own land and with the image of being relatively a neutral country, is in a good position to push for the dialogue (notwithstanding the current tension between Canada and China)” said Sherap Therchin, the executive director of Canada Tibet Committee.

By Sherap Therchin

[i] Ambassador Dominic Barton testifies before the Parliamentary Committee on Canada-China Relations: https://parlvu.parl.gc.ca/Harmony/en/PowerBrowser/PowerBrowserV2/20201208/-1/34472?Language=English&Stream=Video&fbclid=IwAR3ST8wajVrcdvCOIOwdts-YjnUYOCAlE6REZv3VaxgF_mRmVcfgvLoKF6E

[ii] Mass Rehousing and Relocation Programs in Tibetan Areas of China: https://www.hrw.org/report/2013/06/27/they-say-we-should-be-grateful/mass-rehousing-and-relocation-programs-tibetan

[iii] Xinjiang’s System of Militarized Vocational Training Comes to Tibet: https://jamestown.org/program/jamestown-early-warning-brief-xinjiangs-system-of-militarized-vocational-training-comes-to-tibet/?fbclid=IwAR3C7I2BL1__v6PVIi83QjvRTJp-Y0WNvkWrCr4CNHXlVyZ4DpvyEYm7cvw

[iv] The Canada-China committee unanimously passes a motion supporting Sino-Tibetan dialogue: http://tibet.ca/en/library/media_releases/469  

[v] Sino-Tibetan dialogue: https://tibet.net/important-issues/sino-tibetan-dialogue/

[vi] International Resolutions and Recognition on Sino-Tibetan Dialogue: https://tibet.net/important-issues/sino-tibetan-dialogue/international-resolutions-recognition-on-sino-tibetan-dialogue/

 

 

 

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Ambassadeur Dominic Barton: « Vu l’âge de Sa Sainteté, il est urgent de dialoguer. »

December 10, 2020

Ottawa, 10 décembre, 2020 – Le 8 décembre, l’ambassadeur du Canada en Chine, Dominic Barton, a témoigné devant le Comité parlementaire sur les relations sino-canadiennes, sur sa récente visite au Tibet. Le témoignage a débuté par un bref exposé de l’ambassadeur Barton sur ce qu’il a observé lors de sa visite de trois jours à Lhassa, la capitale du Tibet, suivi de questions des membres du comité sur la visite et sur le soutien du Canada aux droits de l’homme au Tibet.[i]

Avant la visite, l'ambassadeur Barton et de hauts fonctionnaires d’Affaires mondiales Canada ont consulté le Comité Canada Tibet sur les questions relatives aux droits de l'homme au Tibet et sur la question de savoir si la participation à de telles visites guidées par l'État serait bénéfique pour les Tibétains au Tibet. Il a été mutuellement convenu que tout accès au Tibet, toute possibilité de voir et de rencontrer des Tibétains en personne, et la simple présence de diplomates étrangers au Tibet méritaient d'être poursuivis.

"Nous devrions également nous rappeler que peu de Tibétains ont eu l'occasion de rencontrer des étrangers. J'ai estimé qu'il était important pour les Tibétains de voir que les étrangers viennent toujours, et qu’ils s’inquiètent profondément de leur situation, et pour eux de voir que le Canada se soucie de leur sort. Pour ces raisons, et dans le cadre d'un engagement plus large sur les questions tibétaines, j'ai décidé d'y aller", a déclaré l'ambassadeur Barton lors de son témoignage devant le comité Canada-Chine.

Le programme de trois jours pour l'ambassadeur Barton et les représentants diplomatiques de huit autres nations comprenait des activités dans les domaines du développement économique, de la protection de l'environnement, de l'éducation, de la culture et de la religion. Dans le cadre du programme sur le thème du développement économique, l'ambassadeur Barton a rencontré d'anciens nomades tibétains qui sont relogés dans le cadre du "programme de lutte contre la pauvreté" de la Chine. Le gouvernement chinois affirme que toutes les opérations de relocalisation et de relogement sont entièrement volontaires et respectent "la volonté des agriculteurs et des éleveurs tibétains". Il nie fermement que toute expulsion forcée ait lieu au cours du processus et suggère qu'il fait preuve de sensibilité culturelle en affirmant que la conception et l'apparence des nouvelles maisons correspondent aux "caractéristiques ethniques". Cependant, les rapports de groupes internationaux de défense des droits de l'homme et de chercheurs indépendants, dont « Human Rights Watch » [ii] et « Adrian Zenz » [iii], montrent que les Tibétains sont forcés, contraints à un relogement massif et à un programme de relocalisation. Sophie Richardson, directrice de Human Right Watch en Chine, a déclaré : "L'ampleur et la vitesse à laquelle la population rurale tibétaine est remodelée par des politiques de relogement et de délocalisation de masse sont sans précédent dans l'ère post-Mao. Les Tibétains n'ont pas leur mot à dire dans la conception des politiques qui modifient radicalement leur mode de vie, et - dans un contexte déjà très répressif - aucun moyen de les défier".

Au cours de son témoignage, l'ambassadeur Barton a noté que la récente motion[iv] sur le dialogue sino-tibétain adoptée par la commission parlementaire sur les relations Canada-Chine constituait une évolution positive et a exprimé son soutien à la reprise du dialogue sino-tibétain. En réponse à une question du député Arif Virani sur la promotion du dialogue sino-tibétain, l'ambassadeur a déclaré : "Je pense que nous devrions continuer à encourager le dialogue et, encore une fois, à chercher ce terrain d'entente, car beaucoup d'éléments sont, je pense, déjà existants dans la constitution chinoise, sur ce qu'est une région autonome, et le faire. Étant donné l'âge de Sa Sainteté et où il en est (le dialogue), je pense qu'il y a une certaine urgence à cela".

L'ambassadeur Barton a ajouté : "Les autorités ont été assez intransigeantes lorsqu'elles ont parlé de Sa Sainteté et du groupe. Elles ont utilisé un langage assez agressif, mais je pense que nous devrions insister pour que ce dialogue puisse trouver un terrain d'entente".

Il y a eu une série de dialogues[v] entre les représentants de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama et l'administration centrale tibétaine, et le gouvernement de la République populaire de Chine jusqu'en 2010. Malgré la forte opposition de la Chine à la pression internationale sur le dialogue, diverses commissions parlementaires des États-Unis, d'Europe, du Canada et d'autres groupes ont adopté des résolutions[vi] soutenant la reprise du dialogue bloqué au fil des ans. Les groupes tibétains en exil estiment que le Canada est un pays idéal pour servir d'intermédiaire dans une négociation entre les deux groupes. "Le Canada, avec ses pratiques d'autonomie sur son propre territoire et son image de pays relativement neutre, est en bonne position pour faire avancer le dialogue (malgré les tensions actuelles entre le Canada et la Chine)", a déclaré Sherap Therchin, directeur exécutif du Comité Canada Tibet.

 

Par Sherap Therchin

 

[i] L'ambassadeur Dominic Barton témoigne devant la commission parlementaire sur les relations Canada-Chine :

https://parlvu.parl.gc.ca/Harmony/en/PowerBrowser/PowerBrowserV2/20201208/-1/34472?Language=English&Stream=Video&fbclid=IwAR3ST8wajVrcdvCOIOwdts-YjnUYOCAlE6REZv3VaxgF_mRmVcfgvLoKF6E

[ii] Programmes de relogement et de relocalisation de masse dans les régions tibétaines de Chine : https://www.hrw.org/report/2013/06/27/they-say-we-should-be-grateful/mass-rehousing-and-relocation-programs-tibetan

[iii]Le système de formation professionnelle militarisé du Xinjiang arrive au Tibet : 

https://jamestown.org/program/jamestown-early-warning-brief-xinjiangs-system-of-militarized-vocational-training-comes-to-tibet/?fbclid=IwAR3C7I2BL1__v6PVIi83QjvRTJp-Y0WNvkWrCr4CNHXlVyZ4DpvyEYm7cvw

[iv] Le Comité parlementaire sur les relations sino-canadiennes adopte à l'unanimité une motion de soutien au dialogue sino-tibétain: http://tibet.ca/en/library/media_releases/469  

[v] Dialogue sino tibétain: https://tibet.net/important-issues/sino-tibetan-dialogue/

[vi] Résolutions et reconnaissance internationales sur le dialogue sino-tibétain:

 https://tibet.net/important-issues/sino-tibetan-dialogue/international-resolutions-recognition-on-sino-tibetan-dialogue/

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank