Join our Mailing List

"On my part, I remain committed to the process of dialogue. It is my firm belief that dialogue and a willingness to look with honesty and clarity at the reality of Tibet can lead us to a viable solution."

Canada raises concerns about Tibet at 46th UN Human Rights Council meeting

December 31, 2020

Ottawa, March 14th, 2021 - On March 11th, a day after the 62nd Tibetan National Uprising Day, Ms. Tamara Mawhinney - a senior Canadian diplomat representing the Canadian government at the UN raised concerns about arbitrary detention, custodial torture, and deaths of Tibetan activists at the 46th UN Human Rights Council Meeting in Geneva. 

Ms. Mawhinney, who serves as Deputy Permanent Representative of Canada's Mission to the UN, reiterated to the Council that Canada is concerned about the Chinese detention of human rights defenders. "At a time when governments are struggling to contain the virus, far too many states are wrongfully imprisoning individuals in what constitutes a direct assault on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. In China, there are deeply concerning reports of deaths in the custody of Tibetans. We are gravely concerned with the treatment of Uyghurs." said Ms. Tamara Mawhinney at the meeting.

Canada's intervention on Tibet at this high-level multilateral platform comes after the Canada Tibet Committee wrote a letter to Canadian Foreign Minister Marc Garneau on 19-year old Tibetan monk Tenzin Nyima.  

A 19-year old monk Tenzin Nyima and six other Tibetans from the same town of Wonpo in eastern Tibet were arbitrarily detained in 2019 by Chinese authorities for their involvement in peaceful protests calling for Tibet's independence. After being released and rearrested in 2020, Tenzin Nyima died in January 2021 from injuries sustained under detainment; reports include indications of beatings, malnourishment, and other signs of mistreatment while in custody. 





News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Je reste attaché au dialogue. Je suis en effet fermement convaincu que le dialogue et la volonté d’examiner clairement et honnêtement la réalité du Tibet peuvent nous conduire à une solution viable. »

Le Canada mentionne le Tibet à la 46e réunion du Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies

December 31, 2020

Le 11 mars, un jour après la 62e Journée nationale du soulèvement tibétain, Mme Tamara Mawhinney, un haut diplomate canadien représentant le gouvernement canadien à l’ONU, a soulevé des préoccupations au sujet de la détention arbitraire, la torture et la mort de militants tibétains, à la 46e réunion du Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies à Genève. 

Mme Mawhinney, qui est député permanent représentant la mission du Canada auprès des Nations Unies, a réitéré au Conseil que le Canada est préoccupé par la détention en Chine de défenseurs des droits de la personne. « À un moment où les gouvernements luttent pour contenir le virus, beaucoup trop de pays emprisonnent à tort des individus dans ce qui constitue une attaque directe contre la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme. En Chine, il y a des rapports très inquiétants sur des décès en détention de Tibétains. Nous sommes gravement préoccupés par le traitement réservé aux Ouïghours », a déclaré Mme Tamara Mawhinney à la réunion.

L’intervention du Canada sur le Tibet dans le cadre de cette plateforme multilatérale de haut niveau survient après que le Comité Canada-Tibet ait écrit une lettre au ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada, Marc Garneau, au sujet du moine tibétain de 19 ans, Tenzin Nyima.

Un moine de 19 ans, Tenzin Nyima, et six autres Tibétains de la même ville de Wonpo, dans l’est du Tibet, ont été arbitrairement détenus en 2019 par les autorités chinoises pour leur implication dans des manifestations pacifiques appelant à l’indépendance du Tibet. Après avoir été libérée et arrêté de nouveau en 2020, Tenzin Nyima est décédée en janvier 2021 des suites de blessures subies en détention; les rapports font état d’agressions physiques, de malnutrition et d’autres signes de mauvais traitements pendant sa détention.

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank