Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Canada Tibet Committee Hosts Virtual Roundtable with Former Canadian Ambassador to China

December 31, 2020

Toronto, March 15th, 2021—On March 8th, 2021, the Canada Tibet Committee had the pleasure of hosting a virtual roundtable with Mr. Guy Saint-Jacques, former Canadian ambassador to the People’s Republic of China between 2012 and 2016. For eighty minutes, Mr. Saint-Jacques engaged in a lively question-and-answer discussion with participants on matters related to China, Tibet, Xinjiang, and avenues for Western policy-making in the Indo-Pacific.

During his time as ambassador, Mr. Saint-Jacques was known to be a strong voice on Chinese affairs and an able representative of Canadian interests in the region. After the end of his diplomatic tenure with Global Affairs Canada, he has continued to provide expert public and media commentary as an engaged private citizen.

These qualities were on full display at the CTC virtual roundtable last week, where Mr. Saint-Jacques extolled the necessity of a democratic, Western-led alliance intended to curb the excesses of Chinese expansionism. He remarked that “what we have seen since Xi Jinping became President of China, in fact, since he became Secretary General of the Communist Party of China… I’m convinced that China doesn’t care now about the reputation of China because he thinks that all foreign countries depend too much on China. That’s why this new council of democracies, in my view, could play a useful role.”

He goes on to state: “But that would take political courage. Maybe Western leaders would say, ‘you know what, all of us will take turns to meet with Dalai Lama.’ That would really upset the Chinese. I think the challenge for Western governments… we have learned a lot more in the last year, the last two years, about what’s really going on in China, especially in Xinjiang. The spotlight has moved from Tibet to Xinjiang, but let’s not forget about Tibet. There are also awful things that are going on there.”

Mr. Saint-Jacques noted the shift in public attitudes against China within the last several years, opining that “it has become a lot more difficult for Western countries to give the benefit of the doubt to China. I think history will judge us very seriously if we are not more forceful in our interventions with China.”

Link to full roundtable available here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2tDm3V9GPw

By Sherap Therchin and Anvesh Jain


Anvesh is a Research Associate at the Canada Tibet Committee and a student of International Relations at the University of Toronto.

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Le Comité Canada Tibet organise une table ronde virtuelle avec l'ancien ambassadeur du Canada en Chine

December 31, 2020

Toronto, 15 mars 2021—Le 8 mars 2021, le Comité Canada Tibet a eu le plaisir d’organiser une table ronde virtuelle avec M. Guy Saint-Jacques, ancien ambassadeur canadien en République de Chine, de 2012 à 2016. Pendant quatre-vingt minutes, M. Saint-Jacques a engagé une discussion animée de questions-réponses avec les participants sur des questions liées à la Chine, au Tibet, au Xinjiang, et aux pistes pour l'élaboration des politiques occidentales dans l'Indo Pacifique.

Pendant son mandat d'ambassadeur, M. Saint-Jacques était connu pour être une voix forte dans les affaires chinoises et un représentant compétent des intérêts canadiens dans la région. Après la fin de son mandat diplomatique au sein d'Affaires mondiales Canada, il a continué à fournir des commentaires d'experts publics et médiatiques en tant que citoyen privé engagé.

Ces qualités ont été pleinement mises en valeur lors de la table ronde virtuelle du CCT la semaine dernière, où M. Saint-Jacques a vanté la nécessité d'une alliance démocratique dirigée par l'Occident, destinée à freiner les excès de l'expansionnisme chinois. Il a fait remarquer que « ce que nous avons vu depuis que Xi Jinping est devenu président de la Chine, en fait, depuis qu'il est devenu secrétaire général du Parti communiste chinois… Je suis convaincu que la Chine ne se soucie guère maintenant de sa propre réputation, parce qu'elle pense que tous les pays étrangers dépendent trop d’elle. C’est pourquoi ce nouveau conseil des démocraties, à mon avis, pourrait jouer un rôle utile. »

Il poursuit en déclarant: « Mais cela demanderait du courage politique. Peut-être que les dirigeants occidentaux diraient: ‘Vous savez quoi, nous allons tous nous relayer pour rencontrer le Dalaï Lama.’ Cela contrarierait vraiment les Chinois. Je pense que le défi pour les gouvernements occidentaux… nous avons appris beaucoup plus cette dernière année, les deux dernières années, sur ce qui se passe réellement en Chine, en particulier au Xinjiang. Les projecteurs sont passés du Tibet au Xinjiang, mais n’oublions pas le Tibet. Il y a aussi des choses horribles qui se passent là-bas.

  1. Saint-Jacques a observé le changement d'attitude du public contre la Chine au cours des dernières années, estimant « qu’il est devenu beaucoup plus difficile pour les pays occidentaux de donner le bénéfice du doute à la Chine. Je pense que l'histoire nous jugera très sérieusement si nous ne sommes pas plus énergiques dans nos interventions avec la Chine. 

Lien pour la table virtuelle complète disponible (en anglais): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2tDm3V9GPw

 

Par Sherap Therchin et Anvesh Jain

 

Anvesh est associé de recherche au Comité Canada Tibet et étudiant en relations internationales à l'Université de Toronto.

 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank