Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Panchen Lama birthday cake delivered to Chinese Embassy

April 25, 2007

(Ottawa, Wednesday, 25 April 2007) – In honour of the Panchen Lama’s 18th birthday, the Canada Tibet Committee today delivered a birthday cake to the Chinese Embassy in Ottawa which it hopes the embassy will deliver on its behalf, said Ottawa branch president Alys Muckart.

The Panchem Lama or Gedchun Choekyi Nyima is considered the world’s youngest political prisoner. In 1995, the Chinese government arrested Gedchun Choekyi Nyima and his family two months after his nomination as the reincarnation of the Panchen Lama, the second most important figure in Tibetan religion, culture and politics after the Dalai Lama. Panchen means "Great Scholar" and Lama is a word Tibetans use for religious teacher. Historically, the Panchen Lama has played a pivotal role in identifying the reincarnation of the Dalai Lama, and vice versa.

Gedchun Choekyi Nyima was six at the time of his arrest. His whereabouts and those of his family are unknown. No international body has ever been given permission by the Chinese government to visit the family, despite repeated requests from foreign governments and senior UN officials, including the High Commissioner for Human Rights. Shortly after his detention, the Chinese government installed Gyaltsen Norbu a ‘puppet’ Panchen Lama in his place.

Accompanying the CTC to deliver the cake were representatives from Students for a Free Tibet and a symbolic group of his Canadian peers: fellow 18 year-olds. “When most 18 year olds would now be considering their choice of university, the Panchen Lama will be celebrating his birthday in Chinese detention,” said Muckart.

"The Panchen Lama has tragically lost his childhood, but it's not too late to give him his freedom" said Muckart. "The Chinese government can no longer hide behind their claim that the Panchen Lama's parents are responsible for his continued detention since he’s now eighteen. China must release him."

The cake was randomly selected by a clerk at the bakery and remained sealed in the possession of a single CTC volunteer until delivery.

- 30 -

For more information:
Alys Muckart
613.798.0278
Dermod Travis, Executive Director
514.487.0665

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Gâteau d’anniversaire pour le Panchen Lama livré à l’Ambassade chinoise

April 25, 2007

(Ottawa, Mercredi, 25 avril 2007) – En l’honneur du 18e anniversaire du Panchen Lama, le Comité Canada Tibet a livré aujourd’hui un gâteau d’anniversaire à l’Ambassade chinoise à Ottawa dans l’espoir que l’ambassade le transmette de sa part, a déclaré la présidente de la branche d’Ottawa Alys Muckart.
 
Le Panchen Lama ou Gedchun Choekyi Nyima est considéré comme le plus jeune prisonnier politique au monde. En 1995, le gouvernement chinois a arrêté Gedchun Choekyi Nyima et sa famille deux mois après sa nomination comme réincarnation du Panchen Lama, le deuxième personnage le plus important dans la religion, la culture et la politique tibétaines après le Dalaï Lama. Panchen signifie « grand érudit » et Lama est un mot employé par les Tibétains pour designer un enseignant religieux. Historiquement, le Panchen Lama a joué un rôle crucial dans l’identification de la réincarnation du Dalaï Lama, et vice versa.
 
Gedchun Choekyi Nyima avait six ans au moment de son arrestation. L’endroit où il se trouve, ainsi que sa famille, est inconnu. Aucune entité internationale n’a à ce jour obtenu la permission du gouvernement chinois de visiter la famille, malgré des demandes répétées de gouvernements étrangers et d’officiels supérieurs de l’ONU, incluant le Haut Commissaire aux droits de l’homme. Peu après sa détention, le gouvernement chinois a installé Gyaltsen Norbu, un Panchen Lama ‘fantoche’, à sa place.
 
Des représentants d’Étudiants pour un Tibet Libre et un groupe symbolique de ses pairs canadiens, d’autres jeunes de 18 ans, ont accompagné le CCT pour livrer le gâteau. « Alors que la plupart des jeunes de 18 ans se préparent à choisir leur université, le Panchen Lama célébrera son anniversaire en détention chinoise”, a déclaré Muckart.
 
"Le Panchen Lama a tragiquement perdu son enfance, mais il n’est pas trop tard pour lui donner sa liberté” a dit Muckart. "Le gouvernement chinois ne peut plus se cacher derrière son affirmation que les parents du Panchen Lama sont responsables de sa détention prolongée puisqu’il a maintenant 18 ans. La Chine doit le relâcher."
 
Le gâteau a été choisi au hasard par un commis à la pâtisserie et est demeuré scellé et entre les mains d’un seul et même bénévole du CCT jusqu’à la livraison.
 
- 30 -
 
Pour plus d’information:
Dermod Travis, Directeur exécutif
514.487.0665
 

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank