Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

One year to Beijing 2008: Team Tibet launched globally

August 04, 2007

Local Tibetans and supporters host sport event to highlight China reality

(Montreal, Saturday, 4 August 2007) – A team of local Tibetans played against sympathetic Montrealers today in a friendly soccer game with a serious message, demanding that China undertake meaningful action for Tibet prior to the start of the Beijing Olympics next year. “The Olympics cannot be allowed to cover up China’s brutal occupation of Tibet, and it is our duty as people concerned about human rights to expose the truth and push for dramatic change,” said a member of Students for a Free Tibet Montreal while at Parc Jeanne-Mance.

The soccer game came four days prior to the one year countdown to the Beijing 2008 Olympics, an event being widely criticized internationally due to China’s repressive policies and military occupation of Tibet, amongst other issues.

“Today, here in Montreal and in cities across the world, Tibetans and their supporters are launching Team Tibet, a campaign that will escalate over the next year to shine the Olympic spotlight on Tibetans’ lack of freedom as a nation, which is symbolized by their inability to participate in the 2008 Olympics,” added Canada Tibet Committee Executive Director Dermod Travis.

Thousands of people are taking part in this global call for action. Hundreds are demonstrating in several American baseball stadiums, while similar events are being organized from Mexico City to New Delhi.

Last April, four activists, including a Tibetan, were arrested at the Everest base camp while opposing China’s plan to run the Olympic torch to Tibet’s Mount Everest.

Today’s game was hosted by the members of the Montreal branch of the Canada-Tibet Committee, Students for a Free Tibet and the Tibetan Cultural Association of Quebec.

- 30 -

For more information:
http://www.tibet.ca
http://www.studentsforafreetibet.org
http://www.supportteamtibet.org

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Un an d’ici à Pékin 2008 : Lancement mondial de l’équipe Tibet

August 04, 2007

Les Tibétains et leurs supporters locaux présentent un évènement sportif afin de lever le voile sur la réalité chinoise
 
(Montréal, le samedi, 4 août 2007) – Une équipe de Tibétains jouent aujourd’hui contre des sympathisants montréalais lors d’un match amical de soccer au message sérieux, demandant à ce que la Chine prenne des actions concrètes d’ici au début des Jeux Olympiques l’an prochain. « Les Olympiques ne peuvent camoufler l’occupation brutale du Tibet par la Chine, et c’est notre responsabilité en tant que membre de la communauté internationale que d’exposer la vérité et de pousser pour un changement dramatique », affirme Chris Schwartz, un membre d’Étudiants pour un Tibet libre Montréal à partir du parc Jeanne-Mance.
 
Le match de soccer se produit à quatre jours du décompte d’un an des Jeux Olympiques de Pékin 2008, un évènement largement critiqué internationalement suite aux politiques répressives du gouvernement chinois ainsi qu’à l’occupation militaire du Tibet, parmi d’autres sujets.
 
“Aujourd’hui, ici à Montréal et dans plusieurs villes autour du monde, les Tibétains et leurs supporters lancent l’Équipe Tibet, une campagne qui s’intensifiera dans l’année qui suit afin de mettre sous les projecteurs olympiques le manqué de liberté des Tibétains en tant que nation, qui est symbolisé par leur inhabilité à prendre part aux J.O. de 2008, a ajouté le directeur général du Comité Canada Tibet M. Dermod Travis.
 
Des milliers de gens prennent part à ce mouvement massif et planétaire. Des centaines manifestent dans plusieurs stades de base-ball à travers les États-Unis, alors que des évènements semblables sont organisés de Mexico City a New Delhi.
 
En avril dernier, quatre activistes, dont un Tibétain, ont été arrêtés au camp de base de l’Everest alors qu’ils s’opposaient au plan de la Chine de faire passer la flamme olympique par le Mont Everest, sur le territoire tibétain.
 
Le match d’aujourd’hui a été organisé par les membres du groupe montréalais du Comité Canada Tibet, Étudiants pour un Tibet libre ainsi que l’Association culturelle tibétaine du Québec.
 
- 30 -
 
Pour plus d’information (en anglais):
Chris Schwartz 514-652-6778

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank