Join our Mailing List

"As long as human rights are violated, there can be no foundation for peace. How can peace grow where speaking the truth is itself a crime?"

Dalai Lama to speak in Ottawa

September 04, 2007

(Montreal, Tuesday, 4 September 2007) – The Canada Tibet Committee (CTC) is honoured to host an historic Public Talk by His Holiness the XIV Dalai Lama on Sunday, 28 October at the Ottawa Civic Centre Arena. Doors open at 1:30 PM and the Public Talk will start at 3:00 PM. The day will also feature a Tibetan Bazaar from 11:00 AM to 7:00 PM in Exhibition Hall A.

His Holiness will address ‘Global Citizenship through Universal Responsibility’. Appropriately, as an Honourary Citizen of Canada, the Dalai Lama’s talk will fall on the heels of Citizenship Week which this year will celebrate the 60th anniversary of Canadian citizenship. In 1947, Canada became the first Commonwealth country to gain its own citizenship act, just three years before Tibetans lost their citizenship following China’s military invasion of Tibet.

The Dalai Lama is visiting Ottawa at the invitation of the Parliamentary Friends of Tibet, an all party group of senators and MPs. His Holiness will be in Ottawa for a series of meetings and events and then visit Toronto on 31 October for a second Public Talk organized by the Canadian Tibetan Association of Ontario (www.ctao.org).

Public Talk Information:
Global Citizenship through Universal Responsibility: A Public Talk by the Dalai Lama
Date: Sunday, 28 October 2007
Time: Doors open at 1:30 PM
Location: Ottawa Civic Centre, 1015 Bank St.
Tickets: Ticketmaster, www.ticketmaster.ca , 613.755.1111

Founded in 1987, the CTC is an independent, non-governmental organization of Tibetans and non-Tibetans living in Canada, concerned with the continuing human rights violations and lack of democratic freedom in Tibet. This will be the Dalai Lama’s sixth visit to Canada and third to Ottawa.

- 30 -

For more information:
Dermod Travis
CTC Executive Director
514.487.0665
dermod@tibet.ca
www.tibet.ca

News Releases

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Compassion et tolérance ne sont pas des signes de faiblesse mais de force. »

Conférence à venir du Dalaï Lama à Ottawa

September 04, 2007

(Montréal, mardi, le 4 septembre 2007) – Le Comité Canada Tibet (CCT) a l’honneur d’accueillir une conférence historique de Sa Sainteté le 14e Dalaï Lama le dimanche, 28 octobre à l’Aréna du Centre civique d’Ottawa. Les portes ouvrent à 13h30 et la conférence débutera à 15h00. La journée inclura également un bazar tibétain de 11h00 à 19h00 dans le Hall d’exposition A.
 
Sa Sainteté discutera de ‘Citoyenneté globale à travers une responsabilité universelle’. De façon appropriée, comme il est citoyen honorifique du Canada, la conférence du Dalaï Lama suivra de près la Semaine de la citoyenneté, qui célébrera cette année le 60e anniversaire de la citoyenneté canadienne. En 1947, le Canada est devenu le premier pays du Commonwealth à acquérir son propre acte de citoyenneté, à peine trois ans avant que les Tibétains ne perdent leur citoyenneté à la suite de l’invasion militaire du Tibet par la Chine.
 
Le Dalaï Lama visite Ottawa à l’invitation des Parlementaires amis du Tibet, un groupe de sénateurs et députés de tous les partis. Sa Sainteté sera à Ottawa pour une série de rencontres et d’évènements, puis visitera Toronto le 31 octobre pour une deuxième conférence organisée par l’Association Tibétaine Canadienne de l’Ontario (www.ctao.org).
 
Information sur                     La citoyenneté globale par la responsabilité universelle :
la conférence :                      Uneconférence du Dalaï Lama
Date :                                    
Dimanche, le 28 octobre 2007
Heure :                                   Ouverture des portes à 13h30
Lieu :                                      Centre
civiqued’Ottawa, 1015 rue Bank
Billets :                                   Ticketmaster, www.ticketmaster.ca , 613.755.1111
 
Fondé en 1987, le CCT est un organisme non-gouvernemental indépendant regroupant des Tibétains et non-Tibétains vivant au Canada, qui se préoccupent des perpétuelles violations de droits humains et du manque de liberté démocratique au Tibet.  Ce sera la sixième visite du Dalaï Lama au Canada et sa troisième à Ottawa.
 
- 30 -
 
Pour plus d’information :
Dermod Travis
Directeur exécutif du CCT
514.487.0665

Communiqués de presse

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank