Join our Mailing List

"We Tibetans are looking for a legitimate and meaningful autonomy, an arrangement that would enable Tibetans to live within the framework of the People’s Republic of China."

Tibet & Canada

Although the TIBETAN COMMUNITY IN CANADA is relatively small – approximately 7500 in total – second and third generations are actively helping to preserve and promote Tibetan ethno-cultural identity in Canada through various organizations across the country.

Through the efforts of then Minister for Citizenship and Immigration Jason Kenney, his staff, and in coordination with the Canada Tibet Committee, Canadian Tibetan Associations, and the Office of Tibet in New York, the resettlement project agreement was finalised in 2010 and will welcome up to 1000 TIBETANS to Canada.

GOVERNMENT RELATIONS between Tibet and China go back to the late 1800’s. Canada’s current position on Tibet’s political status is as follows:  “Canada recognizes the People's Republic of China as the sole, legitimate government of China and does not recognize the Tibetan "government-in-exile". Canada recognizes the Dalai Lama as an important spiritual leader who earned the Nobel Peace Prize and is an honorary Canadian citizen.

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Le Canada peut, dans une atmosphère cordiale et constructive, demander au gouvernement chinois de résoudre la situation du Tibet. »

Tibet & Canada

Bien que la COMMUNAUTE TIBÉTAINE AU CANADA soit relativement restreinte – environ 7500 personnes au total – les deuxième et troisième générations contribuent activement à la préservation et à la promotion de l’identité ethnoculturelle tibétaine par l’intermédiaire de diverses organisations établies dans tout le Canada.

Grâce aux efforts de Jason Kenney, alors Ministre de la citoyenneté et de l’immigration, ainsi que de ses collaborateurs, et de concert avec le Comité Canada Tibet, les associations canado-tibétaines et le Bureau du Tibet à New York, un accord portant sur un projet de réinstallation a été conclu en 2010 aux termes duquel jusqu’à 1000 Tibétains seront accueillis au Canada.

LES RELATIONS GOUVERNMENTALES entre le Tibet et la Chine remontent à la fin des années 1800. La position actuelle du Canada sur le statut politique du Tibet est la suivante : « Le Canada reconnaît le gouvernement de la République populaire de Chine comme étant le seul gouvernement légal de la Chine et ne reconnaît pas le "gouvernement tibétain en exil". Le Canada reconnaît le Dalaï Lama comme un important chef spirituel ayant reçu le prix Nobel de la paix et nommé citoyen canadien à titre honorifique. »

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank