Join our Mailing List

"For a happier, more stable and civilized future, each of us must develop a sincere, warm-hearted feeling of brotherhood and sisterhood."

1000 New Tibetans

In 2007 during his visit to Ottawa, His Holiness the Dalai Lama asked Prime Minister Stephen Harper whether his government would agree to welcome Tibetans from the north Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh to Canada. Through the efforts of then Minister for Citizenship and Immigration Jason Kenney, his staff, and in coordination with the Canada Tibet Committee, Canadian Tibetan Associations, and the Office of Tibet in New York, the resettlement project agreement was finalised in 2010.

In 2011, at the request of the Canadian government, Project Tibet Society (PTS) was established to oversee and coordinate the resettlement effort headed by CTC Board member Nima Dorje and former Executive Director Dermod Travis. PTS subsequently signed a memorandum of understanding with the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA) to assist it in implementing the program.

The CTA through its Department of Home provided the settlement resident data, allocated the number of seats based on the population of various camps, and monitored the selection process. The actual work of preparing a list of people and organizing a selection lottery was conducted by the camp representatives under the direction of the Department of Home and the Kashag (Tibetan cabinet).

The first 17 Tibetans, part of the initial wave of more than 200, arrived in Canada on November 29, 2013. It is hoped that eventually up to 1000 Tibetans living in Arunachal Pradesh will be resettled in Canada under the program.

As the first Tibetans left India for their new home in Canada, they were treated to an official send-off reception in Delhi with special guest His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay made the following statement:

“I sincerely thank the Government of Canada and its Prime Minister Stephen Harper, particularly former Immigration Minister Jason Kenney, the current Immigration Minister Mr. Chris Alexander and his dedicated staff. I also thank the Government of India for agreeing to this burden sharing program, and the Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh for facilitating the relocation. I would like to thank and urge PTS and local Tibetan Association to continue their efforts to see a successful resettlement of Tibetans from Arunachal Pradesh. I once again request all fellow Tibetans and our friends in Canada to contribute to make this a success.”

Follow the journey of 1000 Tibetans to Canada by joining them on Facebook:
facebook/tibetresettlementproject.

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Nous, les Tibétains, aspirons à une autonomie légitime et véritable, un arrangement qui permettrait aux Tibétains de vivre au sein de la République populaire de Chine. »

1000 nouveaux Tibétains

En 2007 durant sa visite à Ottawa, Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama, a demandé au premier ministre d’alors, Stephen Harper, si son gouvernement accepterait d’accueillir au Canada, des Tibétains de l’Arunachal Pradesh, une province du nord de l’Inde. Grâce aux efforts de son ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration, Jason Kenney, et de son personnel, et en collaboration avec le Comité Canada Tibet, les associations tibétaines du Canada, et le Bureau du Tibet de New York, l’accord du projet de réinstallation fut finalisé en 2010. 

En 2011, à la demande du gouvernement canadien, le Projet Société Tibet (PTS) fut créé pour organiser et superviser les efforts de réinstallation, sous la direction de Nima Dorje, membre du Conseil au CCT, et du précédent directeur exécutif Dermod Travis. Ce projet (PTS) a ultérieurement signé un protocole d’entente avec l’Administration centrale tibétaine (ACT, CTA en anglais) pour l’aider avec la mise en oeuvre du projet.

L’ACT, par le biais de son Département des affaires intérieures, a fourni l’information des résidents à la réinstallation, a alloué le nombre de places selon la population de divers camps, et a supervisé le processus de sélection. La réalisation du travail de préparation d’une liste de personnes, et l’organisation d’une loterie sélective, furent effectuées par les représentants de camps sous la direction du Département des affaires intérieures et du Kashag (cabinet tibétain).

Les 17 premiers tibétains, faisant partie de la vague initiale de plus de 200, sont arrivés au Canada le 29 novembre 2013. Il est à espérer qu’éventuellement jusqu’à 1000 Tibétains vivant en Arunachal Pradesh, seront réinstallés au Canada sous ce programme.

En tant que premiers tibétains quittant l’Inde pour leur nouvelle demeure au Canada, ils furent conviés à une réception officielle de départ à Delhi, avec comme invité spécial, Sa Sainteté Le Dalaï Lama. Sikyong Dr. Lobsang Sangay a fait la déclaration suivante:

“Je remercie sincèrement le gouvernement du Canada et son Premier ministre Stephen Harper, et plus particulièrement, son ministre de l’Immigration d’alors, Jason Kenney, et le ministre actuel de l’Immigration, M. Chris Alexander, ainsi que son personnel dévoué. Je remercie également le gouvernement de l’Inde d’avoir accepté de partager la charge de ce projet, ainsi que l’état indien d’Arunachal Pradesh pour avoir faciliter la réinstallation. J’aimerais remercier et encourager le Projet Société Tibet et l’Association tibétaine locale de continuer leurs efforts pour que la réinstallation des tibétains de l’Arunachal Pradesh soit un succès. J’invite encore une fois tous les compatriotes tibétains et nos amis du Canada à contribuer à ce succès.” 

Suivez le périple de 1000 Tibétains au Canada en vous joignant à eux sur Facebook:

facebook/tibetresettlementproject

 

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank