Join our Mailing List

"Canada can, within a positive friendly atmosphere, ask the Chinese government to resolve the Tibetan situation."

Tibetans in Canada

Tibetan Immigration to Canada

In 1959, a national uprising by Tibetans against the Chinese occupation of their homeland forced thousands to leave their homes. By the late 1960s, close to 100,000 Tibetans were displaced and fled to India and Nepal.

The Indian government was unable to provide assistance to every refugee. As a result, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) became involved in the daily care of refugees. In 1966, the UNHCR began discussing the resettlement of Tibetan refugees with the Canadian government. The UNHCR hoped that Ottawa could resettle these refugees since many of them were agriculturalists. The international organization also sought group relocation of the refugees in order to meet their spiritual and cultural needs. Although the federal government refused any plan involving group settlement, Canada’s High Commissioner to India, James George, suggested to federal officials that Canada could still resettle a small number of Tibetan refugees.

A year later, an interdepartmental committee representing five federal departments was organized to consider the plight of Tibetan refugees and their admission and resettlement in Canada. In July 1970, the Dalai Lama was informed by Canadian officials that Ottawa would consider the resettlement of 240 Tibetan refugees. In its first year of operation, the Tibetan Refugee Program was to cost approximately $794,000. Within the Department of Manpower and Immigration’s Operations Division, the Immigrant and Migrant Services Section was responsible for the Tibetan Refugee Program. Through the Canada Manpower Centres, the Section focused its work on “adjustment assistance” for newcomers by providing financial assistance, counseling, referrals and help in securing employment.

In March 1971, the first Tibetan refugees arrived in Canada. This small group of newcomers to Canada became the first non-European refugees accepted into the country. At the time, the settlement of these refugees called for Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia to accept an equal number of refugees. Initially, British Columbia rejected the plan, forcing the other three provinces to accept more refugees. The Canadian government sought young couples who were already well-established. This initial group numbered 228 persons of which approximately 90 percent of whom were between the ages of 14 and 44.

The Tibetan refugees were settled in 11 municipalities across Ontario, Quebec, Alberta and Manitoba. The federal government decided that the future acceptance of Tibetan refugees would depend on the successful settlement of this first group of 228 individuals. In Quebec, Tibetan refugees were offered language and job training. In other provinces, these same newcomers were often left with little or no assistance during their first several months in Canada. In the Prairies, Tibetan refugees worked as labourers on farms. Of the 128 refugees who later sought full-time employment, a majority worked in the service and crafts industries.

According to Professor Brian Given of Ottawa’s Carleton University, the Tibetan refugees “…have done especially well in the “caring professions,” such as working in hospitals or homes for senior citizens…” due to the Tibetan Buddhist values of compassion and respect for life.

Initially, many refugees struggled to adjust to their new environment since Canadian immigration officials disapproved of group resettlement. In Canada, Tibetan refugees often lacked contact with family in India and their spiritual leader, the Dalai Lama. During the mid-1970s, annual Manpower and Immigration reports indicated that the 228 Tibetan refugees were “…progressing well in their new Canadian environment and seem[ed] to be settling happily.” After five years in Canada, almost all Tibetan adults were “…gainfully employed and able to feed, clothe, and house themselves adequately.” Several years later, Canadian Tibetans established community organizations to preserve their cultural and linguistic traditions.

By 1981, all the Tibetan communities in Canada had established associations through which they celebrated traditional holidays and managed language and dance schools for children. In 1987, Tibetans in Canada and their non-Tibetan supporters founded the Canada-Tibet Committee which would become a leading non-governmental organization dedicated to promoting the plight of the Tibetan people, Tibetan culture and Tibet’s sovereignty.

Throughout the 1990’s and early 2000’s, the number of new Tibetans arriving in Canada rose significantly. According to the 2006 Canadian Census, the Canadian Tibetan community comprised more than 4,250 individuals, most in the Toronto which constituted over 75 per cent of the entire Canadian Tibetan community. On 17 October 2007, the Tibetan Canadian Cultural Centre was established in Etobicoke, Ontario. The centre is now open to members of the public and provides various programs and services including Tibetan language courses, performing arts and Buddhist philosophy classes. During this same period, negotiations were held between the Dalai Lama and the Canadian government for a second resettlement program to assist displaced Tibetans living in the northern India state of Arunachal Pradesh.

Tibetan immigration to Canada is often overlooked in Canadian immigration history. Although the community remains small – now approximately 7500 in total – our community paved the way for other refugee groups in Canada, by illustrating to federal authorities that they could successfully settle in their new country. The community’s second and third generations are now helping to preserve and promote Tibetan ethno-cultural identity in Canada through various organizations across the country.

Author: Jan Raska, “Tibetan Immigration to Canada,” Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 Blog, May 10, 2013, http://www.pier21.ca/blog/jan-raska/tibetan-immigration-to-canada.

Editing: Canada Tibet Committee, Jan 2014

CTC National Office 1425 René-Lévesque Blvd West, 3rd Floor, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H3G 1T7
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Developed by plank

Abonnez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

« Si nous voulons contribuer à l’avènement d’un avenir plus heureux, plus stable et plus civilisé, chacun de nous doit cultiver un sentiment sincère et chaleureux de fraternité. »

Les Tibétains au Canada

Immigration tibétaine au Canada

En 1959, le soulèvement national des Tibétains contre l’occupation chinoise força des milliers d’entre eux à quitter leurs foyers. A la fin des années 60, près de 100 000 Tibétains déplacés avaient fui vers l’Inde et le Népal.

Le gouvernement indien était incapable de fournir de l’aide à tous les réfugiés. En conséquence, le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) se chargea de subvenir à leurs besoins quotidiens. En 1966, le HCR commença à discuter de la réinstallation de réfugiés tibétains avec le gouvernement canadien. Il espérait qu’Ottawa pourrait accepter ces réfugiés, beaucoup d’entre eux étant des agriculteurs. L’organisme international essayait aussi de les regrouper pour répondre à leurs besoins spirituels et culturels. Malgré le refus du gouvernement fédéral d’accepter tout programme d’établissement en groupe, James George, haut-commissaire du Canada en Inde, réussit à convaincre les autorités fédérales que le Canada pourrait toutefois accepter un petit nombre de réfugiés tibétains.

Un an plus tard, un comité interministériel représentant cinq ministères fédéraux fut mis sur pied pour étudier le sort des réfugiés tibétains ainsi que leur admission et réinstallation au Canada. En juillet 1970, les autorités canadiennes informèrent le Dalaï Lama qu’Ottawa envisageait la réinstallation de 240 réfugiés tibétains. Durant sa première année d’existence, le Programme des réfugiés tibétains devait coûter environ 794 000$. Dans la division des opérations du ministère Main-d’oeuvre et immigration, c’est la section des services aux immigrants qui était chargée du programme. Par l’intermédiaire des centres de main-d’œuvre du Canada, la section fournissait principalement une «aide à l’adaptation» aux nouveaux arrivants sous forme d’assistance financière, de conseils, d’orientation et d’aide à la recherche d’emploi.

En mars 1971, les premiers réfugiés tibétains arrivèrent au Canada. Les membres de ce petit groupe étaient les premiers réfugiés non européens à être admis dans le pays. A cette époque, il fut demandé au Québec, à l’Ontario, à l’Alberta et à la Colombie-Britannique d’accepter un nombre égal de réfugiés. Dans un premier temps, la Colombie-Britannique refusa le projet, forçant les trois autres provinces à en accepter davantage. Ce premier groupe comptait 228 personnes dont environ 90 pour cent avaient entre 14 et 44 ans.

Les réfugiés tibétains furent répartis dans 11 municipalités de l’Ontario, du Québec, de l’Alberta et du Manitoba. Le gouvernement fédéral déclara que l’acceptation future de réfugiés tibétains dépendrait du succès de l’établissement de ce premier groupe de 228 personnes. Au Québec, les réfugiés purent suivre des cours de langue et des formations professionnelles. Dans les autres provinces, l’aide à ces nouveaux arrivants fut souvent minime voire inexistante pendant leurs premiers mois au Canada. Dans les Prairies, les réfugiés tibétains travaillaient dans des fermes. Des 128 réfugiés qui cherchèrent plus tard des emplois à temps plein, la majorité travaillaient dans les secteurs des services et de l’artisanat.

Selon le Professeur Brian Given de l’Université Carleton à Ottawa, les réfugiés tibétains «…ont particulièrement bien réussi dans le domaine des soins aux personnes, comme le travail dans les hôpitaux ou les maisons pour personnes âgées en raison des valeurs bouddhistes qui prônent la compassion et le respect de la vie».

Dans un premier temps, beaucoup de réfugiés eurent des difficultés à s’adapter à leur nouvel environnement, les fonctionnaires de l’immigration désapprouvant le regroupement des arrivants. Au Canada, ils souffraient souvent du manque de contact avec leur famille en Inde et leur chef spirituel, le Dalaï Lama. Au milieu des années 70, les rapports annuels de Main-d’oeuvre et immigration indiquaient que les 228 réfugiés tibétains «…progressaient bien dans leur nouvel environnement canadien et semblaient heureux de leur installation.» Après cinq ans au Canada, presque tous les adultes tibétains «…avaient des emplois rémunérés et étaient capables de se nourrir, s’habiller et se loger convenablement.» Plusieurs années plus tard, les Canado-tibétains mirent sur pied des organismes communautaires pour préserver leurs traditions culturelles et linguistiques.

En 1981, toutes les communautés tibétaines au Canada avaient déjà créé des associations au sein desquelles elles célèbrent les fêtes traditionnelles, offrant également des cours de langue et de danse pour les enfants. En 1987, les Tibétains vivant au Canada et leurs sympathisants non tibétains fondèrent le Comité Canada-Tibet, devenu depuis une importante organisation non gouvernementale, ayant alors pour objectif de faire connaître les souffrances du peuple tibétain, la culture tibétaine et la souveraineté du Tibet.

Tout au long des années 90 et au début des années 2000, le nombre de nouveaux arrivants tibétains au Canada augmenta de façon significative. Selon le recensement de 2006, la communauté canado-tibétaine comptait plus de 4 250 membres, surtout dans la région de Toronto où se retrouve plus de 75 pour cent de l’ensemble de la communauté. Le 17 octobre 2007 fut créé le Tibetan Canadian Cultural Centre à Etobicoke, Ontario. Il est maintenant ouvert au public et offre divers programmes et services dont des cours de langue tibétaine, d’arts de la scène et de philosophie bouddhiste. Durant cette même période se tinrent entre le Dalaï Lama et le gouvernement canadien des négociations portant sur un deuxième programme de réinstallation destiné à venir en aide aux Tibétains déplacés vivant dans l’Arunachal Pradesh, situé au nord de l’Inde.

L’immigration tibétaine passe souvent inaperçue dans l’histoire de l’immigration canadienne. Bien que la communauté demeure petite – elle totalise actuellement près de 7500 membres – elle a ouvert la voie à d’autres groupes de réfugiés au Canada, démontrant aux autorités fédérales que l’installation dans leur nouveau pays pouvait être réussie. Les deuxième et troisième générations contribuent maintenant à préserver et promouvoir l’identité ethno-culturelle tibétaine au Canada par l’intermédiaire de divers organismes répartis dans tout le pays.

Auteur: Jan Raska, “Tibetan Immigration to Canada,” Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 Blog, May 10, 2013, http://www.pier21.ca/blog/jan-raska/tibetan-immigration-to-canada.

Edition: Comité Canada Tibet, janvier 2014

 

 

Bureau National du CCT 1425, boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, 3e étage, Montréal (Québec) H3G 1T7 Canada
T: (514) 487-0665   ctcoffice@tibet.ca
Développé par plank